Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Angry vs. happy music 2003-10-30 @ 12:33 p.m.

I like to think of myself as being pretty open minded when it comes to music. I like both stuff that's popular and that few have heard of, and I listen to music in several different genres. Truth be told though, I tend to shy away from really negative music. Not necessarily loud, because loud music is great sometimes. But really dark or angry music turns me off. I've been criticized for this before, because after all the world is full of a lot of negative things, and music should reflect this. And I guess listening to dark music can be very cathartic for a lot of people. Maybe listening to Eminem go off about how pissed he is makes people feel better in a way. I guess I just feel that with all the negativity in the world, why encourage any more of it? I use music as a way to escape the bad stuff, not indulge it. I like to listen to happy stuff because it makes me feel better and it reminds me of all the good things that are still in the world, things that can never really be taken away. Of course, I do indulge in some sad tunes now and then too, just not angry ones I guess. I only listen to sad music when I feel sad myself - it helps me to release and feel better. Yeah, I'm contradicting myself here, aren't I? I don't know - just something about guys screaming their heads off about how they want to kill everyone really turns me off.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com