Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Popups with Attitude 2004-09-03 @ 7:10 p.m.

Well, shortly after writing that entry the other day, I basically solved the popup problem. After fooling around in the task manager for a few minutes, I realized that I was actually not streaming in just one ad server mind you... oh no... I was streaming FIVE of them! No wonder my computer was crashing for lack of memory! The idea finally occured to me then that perhaps I should see if the programs were in my registry, and if so, then I could get them out. Sure enough, I open up the "add/remove programs" list, and lo and behold, there the mother-fuckers are.

So I go to uninstall each of these accursed processes, wondering meanwhile how the hell they got onto my system in the first place, and they have the audacity to question my judgment! I am not talking about a simple "Are you sure you want to uninstall crapware 1.0?" No, the typical message was something like, "Don't uninstall me! I offer hundreds of wonderful bargains custom-tailored to your interests! Let me tell you all about them in three paragraphs! I'm not spyware! You want me on your computer! You need me!" On deleting the programs, one even went so far as to force me to fill out a survey explaining WHY I didn't want their wonderful software on my computer! The bitches even tried to guilt trip me and convince me that it wasn't fair for me to surf the Internet without popups and I needed to pay my dues to society by keeping their crap! Oh my God! Unbelievable! I half expected, after all this, a little window to pop up saying "Help me! Help me! Help meeeeeee..."

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com