Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Biography June 18, 2008 @ 6:35 pm

I was born David Kenneth Stolowitz on January 20, 1983 at 8:41 am in Stockton, California. My parents are Mark L. Stolowitz, a biochemist, and Janet M. Firth Stolowitz, a former nurse who may go back to nursing or take up something as different as interior decorating. I was born on the Capricorn/Aquarius sun cusp, with my rising sign also being Aquarius, my moon in Aries, and my north lunar node in Cancer. I am 6'1", with blue/gold eyes and brown hair, and something of a swimmer's build. My ancestry is Ashkenazi Jewish through Poland and Hungary, English, Irish, Swiss and French. I have eclectic religious beliefs.

My father got his Ph.D. from University of the Pacific and was married in the campus chapel, so that's how I ended up being born in Stockton. My parents and I moved within a couple years down to Fountain Valley in Southern California near Los Angeles, where my brother Jonathan was born in 1987. Shortly afterwards, we got our first house in Long Beach and lived there for about seven years. I was recognized fairly early on for being intellectually gifted, and was thus enrolled in the G.A.T.E. program of the L.A. Unified School District by 4th grade. This meant more intellectual stimulation, but also being seperated and isolated from my former friends and given a mountain of homework which I soon began to reject on principle. My mother was a Cub Scout Den leader and I retained my former neighborhood friends through cub scouts, but other than them I had few if any friends. The development we lived in had very few children, and they tended to be younger than myself. I got in trouble at school because, for better or worse, I couldn't keep my mouth shut.

My family moved to the Eastside of Lake Washington near Seattle in the early 90s, in the summer before I started 6th grade. I really loved 6th grade and the elementary school I attended, but once junior high began I found myself at possibly the most miserable I've ever been. After a year and a half at Evergreen Junior High, I transferred to Odyssey Junior High: a small alternative school run out of portables on the Redmond High School campus. I enjoyed my time there immensely and developed close friendships that I have retained to this day.

High School was very ackward at first - I knew Redmond High better than a lot of kids because I had been on campus before, but found myself mixed in with both my good friends from Odyssey and old kids from Evergreen that used to give me a lot of shit. I feared things would get bad again, but after a few months things I settled in adequately and even began to make a few new friends. I was never a good student in high school even though I took several honors classes. I constantly felt punished for being smart and unfree to do what made me really happy and fulfilled. I also discovered I was gay during this time but didn't come out to more than a few close individuals until I was in college. Senior year was a blast, but also quite bittersweet in that just as I was finally beginning to feel like I fit in and belonged, high school ended.

Although I was a perpetual procrastinator, I managed to make it out of high school with decent enough grades and enough AP credit to attend a state university. I was a better student than in high school, and I picked up a B.A. in History with a Religious History emphasis. Along with that, I had a few really great and really hot roomates, and I made some amazing friends as well. I explored sexuality, religion, magic, mysticism, and all kinds of different fields of knowledge. Although my school was on the smaller end of the scale, I really enjoyed my time there and all the fun adventures and experiences I had during that time.

After college and until about six months ago, I have been jumping around every half-year between various jobs and adventures around the West Coast. I've worked at a magic shop, a children's services agency, washing dishes for an English pub, and hosting at a IHOP. I've done meditation, magic, spellcraft, and general unraveling of the secrets of the universe. I even had a stint as a live-in martial arts student, and have been practicing Aikido and Systema off and on over the years.

Currently, I reside by CHOICE (and by economic expediency) with my family in Pleasanton, California, but will probably be moving out come the end of the summer. The running around and the reasons for doing so are dwindling, and I'm thinking about more long-term stability these days, especially when it comes to those two big concerns of young adulthood: love and career.

Welcome to my quarterlife crisis :)

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com