Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Giving this a shot 2003-10-07 @ 3:13 p.m.

Well let's see... where do I start? Not enough space or time to really tell my whole life story up to this point, so I guess I'll just start out by giving the info relevant to where I'm at now in my life.

I am a 20 year gay white male. My folks live in Pleasanton in the East Bay Area, and I go to school at Sonoma State University in Rohnert Park, California. I am a junior pursuing my Bachelor of Arts in History, and I love going to school here. The weather is really great, the school is not too big or too small, San Francisco is just 40 minutes away, and 2 of my roommates are really hot (not that I could ever pursue them though, they are both straight. But a little eye candy never hurt anyone now and then, right?). I must live in the most modern and nice dormitory in the United States. Its expensive, but I have my own bedroom and bathroom to use at my full discretion.

So, let's get to this week. It's coming out week here at SSU, and I've been enjoying participating in the various activities that have been happening. No, this entry is not some giant gay propaganda, it just happens to be what's happening this week. And even if it was propaganda - hey, its my diary, right? Anyway, yesterday night we did an exercise called 'guided journey' where straight people get a taste of what its like to be gay and live in a homophobic society. Everybdoy gets a set of cards where you are asked to write down childhood friends, close friends, prized possessions, dreams, etc. Then you are taken through a role-playing/visualization kind of exercise starting from age 4 and going to 21 where you get all these things taken away in various ways because you are gay. It really made an impact on our straight visitors. There was this one kind of tough guy there that really had an eye-opening experience. I guess most straight people can't even conceive of what its like to live with this here in America. Going through your whole life being taught that you are sick, or evil, or defective. Being unable to share many things with your friends. Having so many of the things you take for granted denied to you. I hope that people realize that the kinds of things we want are the same things everyone wants - the right to love, the right to celebrate that love, the right to sanctify and commit to that love, etc. But when gay people ask for these things, apparently we want "special right", above and beyond. If we want to be able to kiss or hold hands with our boyfriends or girlfriends in public, we're "shoving it in people's faces". Its hypocritical because they'll use us as long as we keep silent and secret.

Anyway, enough ranting. My human development class had a quiz today which I forgot about. I've done all the readings though, so I wasn't really unprepared. I should play around with my calender program so I get better forewarning about these things. Tonight we have a guest speaker from UCLA coming to talk to us about the challenges and rewards of starting up an LGBT campus resource center, which our group and the faculty have begun planning for. I have to miss Rosicrucians tonight to attend though, which is a bummer because I'm all ready for my 3rd Atrium initiation. Well, maybe I should do a little more study and meditation first - I do want to get the most out of it. Rosicrucians is a mystical order that dates back to the Egyptian Mystery schools, and its exciting to be a part of it. I am like the youngest person there though - its mostly older people who get involved in these organizations. Its like freemasons in some ways, in fact we often use their buildings, but we're very different in other ways. Not nearly as many degrees for instance, but I don't know that much about the masons. Anyway, I'll play around here on the net for a little bit, do some homework, and go enjoy the talk tonight. So long for now.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com