Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Political Crossroads 2003-10-08 @ 1:26 p.m.

Well, California's recall election is finally completed. I find myself not at all depressed though like I was last November. Arnold may be our governor now, but if he tries anything stupid we'll fight him every step of the way! And Proposition 54, the racial information ban, was overwhelmingly defeated! I'm very happy about that - it could have done a lot more damage than Arnold in my opinion. I feel proud of myself in that I dedicated time and energy to fighting for a better future for everyone. I voted absentee weeks ago, but I put up a bunch of posters about 54, talked to my friends and family to make sure they got out and voted, and made about 80 calls for MoveOn. I really did my part, and it feels good! Our phone bank was one of the biggest in American history - we made our goal of over 100,000 phone calls by over 7000 activists. And we had a great turnout of like 65% of registered voters. The polls were packed out into the streets. Very cool.

In addition, I am so excited about the new publicity for the Green party! For the first time, we were able to get our candidate into the state debates, and Peter Camejo was incredibly sharp and poignant. Finally our party is starting to get the coverage it needs and deserves. We got about 3% of the vote, which is about 50,000 people that voted Green. What's most important is that all sorts of people got to hear our message for the first time, and the media and Democrats are starting to take us seriously. As a 3rd party, we are bringing the forgotten but oh so important issues to the front, where the major parties will have to deal with them. Camejo gave a wonderful end of campaign speech that I believe you can read or listen to online at cagreens.org , and I got to watch it on the major news network! Lots of work ahead, but oh how exciting! There's hope yet! I've been biten by the political bug, and I'm definately going to get more active.

In other news, Ronnie Sanlo, the UCLA LGBT director who spoke last night, was wonderful and very inspirational. Did you know that not only were gay people held in the concentration camps by the Nazis, but weren't freed by the allies after the war? They were transferred to prisons and kept there for the next few decades.

So much to fight for - our environment, civil rights, health, seniors, the economy... the list goes on and on. I hope if you're reading this that you are registered to vote and doing your part - nobody can afford to take the sidelines anymore when so much is at stake.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com