Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Spiritually speaking 2003-10-22 @ 2:51 p.m.

I had a yummy lunch today at a Indian bistro in Cotati with my friend Serene. We were a little suspicious at first, because doesn't an Indian bistro sound like an oxymoron? Was it like Indian and Italian food mixed? Curry pizza? But it turned out to be pretty good! Serene got the buffet and I had a lamb curry which was good but had only like 1/3 of the rice you needed to eat the curry. It was cool, cause she snuck me some extra rice and out-of-this world bread that I believe is called keen. I MUST find the recipe for that bread!

Serene and I have Queer Lives class together on Monday and Wednesday mornings. I'm taking the class for obvious personal reasons. Serene is straight but she is a Women's and Gender Studies minor who was interested in the subject and wanted to get some more credit. Serene has an interesting background and I really enjoy chatting up a storm with her. She is 35 and is finally getting a chance to go back to school full time after having moved back home from Chicago. She is part of the Hutchins School of Liberal Studies here at SSU, which is a distinguished and selective honors school that uses very Socratic student-centered methods of teaching. Its really funny because she's the quintessential Bay area radical, but she looks much younger than she actually is and wears girly stuff like sparkly lipstick.

Anyway, Serene and I have lately started getting into really interesting and lengthy discussions about history and religion. She's had a bad experience with traditional religion but she thinks I know a lot about history and theology and enjoys talking about the subject with me. She says she's never found someone she could talk comfortably about religious issues with, so I feel pretty cool that I can be in that position for her. She asks for my thoughts about different political issues related to religion and I talk about the background behind stuff. I go off on long tangents and speals about how religion has been hijacked by politics and how things were never meant to get the way they have. I worry that I rant, but she says I'm a very interesting speaker and I really should be a history teacher of some sort.

She's not the first one to tell me that either, so I'm getting more confident about this stuff. I like to think that what I've got going for me in this respect is a broad knowledge base, honesty and no rush to judge people. Still, I feel that as much as I have learned, it will be incomplete until I experience mystical Illumination - the Second Coming of Christ, if you will. When I have gained that level of communion with God, then I will have the confidence, support and direction I need to be a true spiritual teacher. I promised myself a while back ago that I would never again become attached to any intermediary between myself and God, and I feel that until the Father himself gives me the Baptism of Fire, I will be unqualified to some degree in these matters.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com