Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Staying warm and cozy 2003-11-06 @ 5:12 p.m.

I'm gonna take a break from the family exposes, interesting though they are, and write about some other stuff today.

The weather here at SSU has gotten dark and rainy. I've been fortunate enough that this time I have some comfy, warm and well-lighted places to crawl into with a good book. They give us only one lamp in our dorm rooms and no overhead lights, so you have to be creative in finding ways to keep your room well lit without wasting a lot of space. I'm thankful at least that this time I got a yellow bulb and not a really depressing blue/white one. There was a girl named Anna that I knew back at Oregon State who lived in the room next to me, and she strung Christmas lights around her room. I loved the idea and have adopted it myself, borrowing some of the icicle lights that my parents aren't using. So now, the otherwise dark and gloomy corner of my room near the door sparkles with dangling strings of warm lights, and it helps a lot. Along with this, I have decided to say a big "fuck you" to the school regulations and burn votive candles. If they give me shit about it, I'll say its part of my religious practice. And you know, thinking about that, it really is in a way. I burn my candles when I need a spiritual boost, and I'm using them to learn deep concentration for meditation. Besides, the votive candles are so small and contained that they really aren't a fire hazard if I'm around.

Speaking of fire hazards and college kids, does it seem to you like there is always one dorm on campus where the fire alarm is always going off? When I was at Oregon State, my dorm happened to be that one. And the fire alarm would always go off in the middle of the night too. Ugh! It was really bad in the winter time because everybody had to stand outside in the rain wearing stuff like bathrobes and pajamas, while the firefighters took their time getting over to campus to check things out. The building was just cursed in that respect. Sometimes the cause was preventable - somebody burned the instant popcorn in the microwave, or some jerk threw a flaming mound of trash down the trash chute. Most of the time though the fireman concluded that our alarm system was malfunctioning. Here at Sonoma State, I'm thankful not to be dealing with that problem anymore. Apparently though, this time its the dorm behind mine that is having the constant fire alarms. They at least have theirs go off during the day time from what I gather.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com