Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Musical fun 2003-11-14 @ 3:05 p.m.

Ah, I feel better after that last entry. Let's talk about something fun now. Like... my keyboard!

My parents got my brother and I this keyboard a couple of years ago. Its ended up in my posession now because I was really the only one who ever used it. It's a fairly simple model but it has a few neat tricks it can do. You can set the keys to light up red as you play them to help you learn stuff. There's a song bank with 100 songs you can learn to play by following the bouncing light. There's also a huge set of accompaniment beats and "instruments", but unfortunately both sets sound nothing like the things they claim to. The pop beats don't sound anything like pop, and the piano sound is definately not piano, and so forth. Ah well, what do you expect for a cheapie?

I have to admit though that I am absolutely intoxicated by the sound of a real and authentic piano. There's something about that instrument that just plays with your heartstrings. I've loved piano music ever since I was little, and a lot of my favorite artists are piano related. There's something about piano music that is so powerful and cathartic - I am known to cry from time to time when listening to certain pieces. Maybe the music has no meaning in itself, but rather what we attach to it. Although I like to think I can get an idea based on the name and the melody.

So I started TRYING to learn piano/keyboard a year or so ago, although I used to play on my grandparent's organ often when I ended up at their place. I still have a long way to go; I can't read music really and I can only play one hand at a time. But I like to think I've got hope because I can play songs by ear and I've had some success composing a few different melodies. Recently my friend James and I have been getting into it some more after we discovered that we both played, albeit haphazardly. He has no reading ability but can play like a pro - he played "House of the Rising Sun" perfectly!

Let's see... are there other instruments I'm into? I used to play the cello back in elementary school. That didn't last though because not only did I not have the patience for the practice, but my bitch of an orchestra teacher deliberately embarrased me in front of the whole school when I dissapointed her. And she had no regrets about it either! !@#$%^ !@#$%^. My future musical interest is the guitar, which I'd love to learn, but I feel I need to learn piano first. Also, they're the same type of music to read, right? Treble clef I believe its called? I could be mistaken. But yeah, guitarists are so cool. They're so happy-go-luck and free and they just let you know its all gonna be ok. Right, I know its a big overgeneralization, but that's the image I have.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com