Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Registration Roundabout 2003-12-04 @ 3:56 p.m.

Registering for a new semester of college classes can be likened to a game of pong. Students get bounced back and forth between two or more offices and departments that keep insisting they can't help you, but the guys on the other end of campus should be able to.

Admitedly, registration is probably less of a problem for this coming semester then it was for my current one. That would be because this time, I wasn't informed I had been accepted two days before classes started. So this time I got to register far in advance. Not as convient as you would think though, because you are assigned a registration "appointment" slot in which you have 11 hours to register for all your classes. Appointment is the wrong term to use in my opinion because it suggests that we get to choose when our time slot occurs. Not the case.

I was fortunate not to be in the kind of situation that some of my friends found themselves in, in which their registration was put on hold for mysterious reasons. They did not discover this of course until their time came, they went online to register and were informed they had been blocked. Only the vaguest references were made to the reason for the block, and thus began a quest to discover who had made the block, why, and what kind of offering would appease them. My poor friend Phil had to skip out on like 2 classes in order to run around solving this puzzle. If one is lucky enough to discover the usually petty reason their registration is being held up (a late parking ticket, a missing vaccination record, etc),then solving the problem does not necessarily guarantee the solution. Either Julie or Phil told me that the staff had still not gotten around to enabling their registration and removed the error commands by this morning.

My own problem this semester was of a different nature but on somewhat of the same level of annoyance. Once upon a time, back in September, I turned in my transcripts from OSU and UC Extension to the Admissions and Records office and said "Give me the credit I am due". I got the credit evaluation back a week or so later, but idiot that I am I didn't bother to look at it until this last week when I started getting ready to register for classes. Lo and behold, four of the classes I should have gotten general education credit for were only given elective credit. Translation - my hard work and planning in order to graduate on time and fulfill BA requirements was being fucked up because Sonoma has different standards than Oregon State. Argh!!! Some of these are understandable, but others are ridiculous. Apparently, the microbiology class I took WITH a lab will count for neither my biological science requirement or my science lab requirement. Apparently, its not general enough in nature. Bullshit! OSU told me it'd work just fine! I mean come on! Microbiology won't satisfy the biological sciences requirement?! This is getting ridiculous.

So now I have to appeal for a GE substitution for like 3 or 4 classes from my old schools. And if they still decide to be assholes, then I have to essentially was time and energy taking unnecessary classes. Grrrr... whoever determined these ridiculous standards needs to be burninated by a wild Trogdor!

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com