Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

More Washington fun 2004-01-16 @ 10:41 a.m.

'The Interior Castle' is an amazing book. I was kind of expecting a dry explanation of the mystic path, but St. Teresa is really fun to read! She has a lot of wit and practical advice to give. Sometimes I think she should have lived in our era - she sounds like she could be someone's witty, wise and reassuring grandmother. But alongside this wit is a deep humility and love of God, and a sincere desire to help people communion with the Divine within themselves. I read up through the Second Dwelling, because that's where I perceive that I am at right now. I will pick up the book again at the Third Dwelling when I know I have advanced and am ready for it.

No classes at the Redmond dojo today, so I am heading across the water to Lynwood this evening to train with Sensei Holloway. Sensei Holloway was a 1st class student (Brown belt) when I began training with Sensei Morris, and he taught me a lot of my maneuvers and techniques. He's a really cool guy with a great sense of humor. Now he has a dojo of his own. Maybe I will too someday. The website for his school is www.aikidoschool.net if you are interested.

I ran around for awhile with Gen, Jessica and Mrs. Shraub yesterday. We practiced the art of doing very little and enjoying it very much. We had lunch at KFC in Redmond, which may have one of the smallest parking lots and most narrow drive-throughs known to mankind. I've been avoiding fast food ever since I read 'Fast Food Nation', but I didn't want to make a stink about it. When in Rome, do as the Romans do. Besides, we weren't eating beef, so while I still bear guilt for eating meat from tortured chickens, at least I'm not at risk for Mad Cow and other diseases we have to fear because the fast food companies won't raise prices by 2 cents and test their beef. We dropped Mrs. Shraub off at work and brought her coffee later in the day. Gen, Jessi and I also went to the theater that Jessi works at and saw 'Cheaper by the Dozen'. I was pleasantly surprised - all the Steve Martin movies in the last few years have looked kind of stupid, but this movie was really fun! And the guy that played the eldest son - OMG, he was so hot! I'm told he also plays Superman on Smallville, but I've never seen that show. And little miss Lizie McGuire girl wasn't too annoying either. So I recommend it if you're looking for a good flick.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com