Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Smart bastards 2004-02-19 @ 1:26 p.m.

So much has been going on in the last few weeks. Some of it I can talk about; some of it I don't really feel comfortable discussing. Or maybe, at least, not without providing more background information.

School is so-so lately. Some days I really enjoy it, and other days I get so sick of it I just want to scream. I ended up switching up to a more challenging Physics course. I'm on the Calculus-based Science majors track now instead of the Algebra-based Pre-med track. My new Physics class ended up being the exact same time as my old one, except it was 4 days out of the week instead of 3. Sadly, I had to drop my economics course in order to accomodate the change. However, all is not lost, since I am planning to take the course, with the same awesome professor, using the same textbook next semester.

To replace my economics course, I decided to get my GE literature requirement out of the way and enrolled in a California literature class. Thusfar, the material is fascinating, but the professor is a bit unnerving. He's one of these guys who likes to think he understands the Socratic method but inevitably ends up looking arrogant and sounding deliberately intellectually abstract. I think people classically understand Socrates as being a guy who already had all the answers and feigned ignorance in order to really show people how stupid they were being. I, on the other hand, believe that he was genuinely humble, and that it was his greatest gift. When the Oracle told him he was the wisest man in Athens, I don't think she was implying he was particularly intelligent, so much as he had the humility, curiousity and tenacity to question everything. Imagination is more important than knowledge, as Einstein said.

I watched Shindler's List for my Intolerance in Europe Class and finished my analysis paper at the eleventh hour. Amazingly, I not only got an A on it, but Halavais wants me to submit it to the History journal. I'm the kind of person you hate, aren't I? Well let me just say something in my defense. I intend to use my ability to successfully complete seemingly daunting tasks in narrow time frames for the good of all mankind. You'll see - you won't be bitching when I publish a book you love, or throw a crooked politician out of office, or save the world in some way or another. Then again, maybe I'm just trying to console myself for being a smart bastard.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com