Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Freaking out over my workload 2004-03-11 @ 10:37 p.m.

Its taken me awhile to figure this out, but I think I have a problem when it comes to being overwhelmed with work. I'm sitting here right now looking at my "to-do" list on MS outlook, which isn't even updated I don't think. And as I look at this list, half of which is red with readings I'm behind on, I'm getting this really sick feeling in my chest. Like the world's collapsing in on me and I'm doomed.

Everybody procrastinates. But the ones who really make an art of it- I figure they probably got another factor at work. Why do I wait to the last minute to get things done? When I do, I can't do them as well as I could. I don't buy that 'clarity of thought' bullshit; maybe it works for some people, but I'm probably just as clear in advance. At least, I think so.

Somehow, this little old list is making me hate my life. I look at it, and days come to mind. Days worth of work. Hours spent doing things I hate. Like those 2 books I have to read for my commie class that I have barely started, but have to write a paper based on that's due next week. It just all seems impossible. So much easier to go entertain myself with something I believe in for awhile. Or two awhiles. or three.

Interestingly, I discovered recently that this trait may run in my family. Apparently my dad gets overwhelmed the same way I do sometimes. He just wants to cry or something. I do too - but I'm out of tears. No more feeling sorry for myself allowed. Just resignation to suffer.

My dad says, "How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time". They never tell you how long the guy has in order to eat the elephant though. Even he must have had deadlines, I'm sure

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com