Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Getting situated with school 2004-04-26 @ 12:34 p.m.

I got thrown for a loop this morning in my collapse of communism class. Bittner asked when I came in if I was going to be speaking today. Naturally, I just assumed he was referring to the previous class in which I observed the National Day of Silence. But then, Tim gets up and starts giving a presentation on Russian Hockey players. Confused, I turn to my syllabus and see a slate of presentations lined up for today. Gasp - Was I supposed to give a presentation when I didn't even know what topic had been assigned? Oh shit! So I sat there freaking out a bit and trying to decide how I could ask Bittner about it and save the maximum amount of face. So Tim gets done, and I go over and apologize for not having a presentation ready.

"But didn't you already give your presentaiton awhile back ago?" Bittner replied.

Ah... sigh of relief. Turns out he was making a crack about last week. Phew!

Physics continues to be depressing. I was able to get maybe half of the take-home question done, but I didn't feel too bad about it because, as it turns out, that's about as far as everyone else got as well. I didn't get the homework done either, although I did sit down (admitedly an hour before class) to try and do it. Ugh - I had no idea what to do. After about 20 minutes of puzzling, I concluded that torque probably had something to do with it, but I still had no idea how I was supposed to figure out the length that crow bar was supposed to be when I wasn't even given its mass! Aye carumba. Oh, by the way, Professor Hichwa gave us a brief overview of the midterm results, and said there was "quite a range". The lowest score was like 27/100. I am guessing that is probably me. So, my plan now is to get caught up on all my other classes, and then go in and see him to find out if I have any chance of passing the class now and who will be teaching it with what textbook next semester. I got myself into this mess, but I think I've learned something. Just because you don't take a class in it in college doesn't mean you'll never be able to study it on your own in the duration of your life.

I'm going to lunch with Andy today, followed by European Intolerance, the one class I am not only enjoying but doing very well in. Tonight's lineup looks like intense reading - I need to finish "Watermelon Nights" for Cali Lit and catch up to where my commie class is in "The Oligarchs - Wealth and Power in the New Russia". Lots of breaks and water-drinking will be involved I'm sure.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com