Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Candles 2004-04-25 @ 10:02 p.m.

God, I love candles. If that makes me really gay, I don't care. They just have such a wonderful effect on me. They're soothing, pretty and spiritual. They symolize so much, and invite you to slow down and ponder the mysteries of the moment. Almost all religions have made use of them in one form or another. Whether its a prayer for a loved one said before the Virgin Mary, a white yarzeit candle to remember the dead, or a magickal spell woven in colored wax, everyone agrees they have power. I think it dates back to the first, primal religion, when man first tamed fire. Something that was once terrifying and destructive became something that brought light, warmth and peace. Thus, fire has always been the element that represents Spirit in our world.

I've been severely limited in my candle-burning capacities here at school. Officially, the rules say no candles, but I just can't live well without them. They help me so much. Heck, if they try to give me crap about them, I'll tell them the truth - its a vital part of my religion. And I have kept the fire hazards in mind and limited myself to floating or votive candles. Even though I would love to create a formal sanctum with incense and tall pillar candles like I had at the house in Pleasanton. I'll just have to make due I guess. I can live without them, I'll admit. But they just do me so much good, that I'm gonna really pout if I can't!

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com