Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

It's maaaaagick! 2004-05-02 @ 2:13 p.m.

I have been doing quite a bit of reading this weekend. After I got my stipend from my parents, I went over to Borders in Santa Rosa to pick up some things I'd been interested in for awhile. On the way, I came across a travelling book sale that is around for at least another month or so. The books were pretty cheap, but the selection was not that great. Nonetheless, I found Ralph Nader's "Crashing the Party" and an interesting looking book on American Jews and the different directions they feel pulled in. Afterwords at Borders, I picked up two books on magick, which are proving very interesting, to say the least.

I have gotten interested in wicca and witchcraft again after a long time. I have always been fascinated by the concept of magick and desired to have power I could use to work good for the benefit of myself and others. When I was in junior high, I did a little research and report on magick, where I got most of my information from Llewelyn books on witchcraft and such. After that, however, I started shying away from it because of the pagan and polytheistic context. I'm coming back to studying it again now with more perspective. I am trying to see if I can take useful knowledge from these systems and apply it while still remaining true to my monotheistic faith. Part of the challenge of this lies in understanding the original problems that Judaism had with what the pagans in the area were doing. Idolatry and magick for destructive purposes were no doubt a part of it. Yet at the same time, the bible contains many records of actions and miracles that could be considered magickal. In addition, both the Jewish and Christian mystical traditions make use of mystical knowledge like the Kabbalah for applied, magickal means. For example, the Kabbalists often use a red string tied around the wrist for protection against evil energies. Sometimes, it seems as though there is nothing that is really purely good or evil, but only so in how it is used. At the same time, one has to understand the lesser laws before one attempts to transcend them for higher laws.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com