Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Romantic history (1) 2004-07-18 @ 12:12 p.m.

I used to be a very shy and introverted guy. Due to that, as well as not feeling any attraction to girls, I did not have my first girlfriend until I was a junior in high school. Although, lots of people get their start late, so it is not that big a deal. It is worth mentioning though, that before that, I had been to a couple of school dances with dates. It was really quite a sad state of affairs.

My sophmore year (if my memory is correct), my friend Molly, who was a year ahead of me, was 'inspired' by her friends to ask me to homecoming. It was really exciting at first - there was lots of giggling and the girls had to chase her down and get her to ask me. I was amazed that anyone would want to go to a dance with me. Especially Molly, given that if I remember correctly, I had a rather heated argument with her the week before about whether astrology really works or not. When she arrived the night of the dance though, I was a clutz from the start. She presented me with a boutineer (spelling?), and I had no idea what the hell it was. Thinking it was just some kind of kind gift, I put it aside and ran and got her a little piece of fake geode crystal to return her unexpected kindness. Molly said nothing and did not have the heart to tell me that not only was I supposed to attach the flowery thing to my coat, but I had also been expected to buy her a matching corsage. How was I to know - I was a complete newbie when it came to social nicities.

At the dance, I stepped on her feet. That wasn't the worse thing though. Molly could sense I was not interested in her. We had no conversation with each other on the way over, although our friend Heidi looked amusing as a dressed up chauffeur with stylish captain's hat. Ok, I take that back - I remember we asked each other what our favorite colors were. That was about as far as we got speaking wise. Dancing was ackward, not so much because our dancing skills were poor, but rather because good dancing requires a certain amount of intimacy, or at least attraction. I was oblivious and tried my best to have a good time, but Molly made several attempts to get closer (both literal and figuratively) that I would recognize only years later, looking back. I feel bad about that - she must have had a frustrating night. Hmm... I wonder also if she caught me looking at those hot senior guys dancing up front the whole night with their coats off. They were fantastic - emphasis on the 'fantasy'.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com