Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

A Week With the Grandparents (2) 2004-08-02 @ 5:02 p.m.

Ok... so where was I...

One thing I really liked about the trip out on the lake was the view at night. Jonathan and I slept on sleeping bags up on the roof of the houseboat. Not only was it surprisingly comfy, but the nighttime was absolutely gorgeous. To me, there are few more beautiful things than the way that moonlight plays on water. The stars were nice too, but because the moon was in the third quarter already, you couldn't see a ton of them.

Now, we went to sleep comfortable enough. But as my dreams progressed, I suddenly began to dream of bees that wouldn't leave me alone. I went all over the house, in and out of the shower, and these damn bees would not stop bugging me! Well, sure enough, when I opened my eyes, guess who was there to greet me? I blamed Jonathan for deciding to play cookie monster on the roof the previous night.

Jon cleaned things up though and only one bee pestered us the next morning. We got pretty silly the night before. We sang Animaniacs songs and made up some kind of hillarious joke about God using the Clapper (R) to run the universe. Need a big bang in a hurry? Clap on! Pesky humans getting on your nerves? Clap off! Clap on and off - the clapper! If my writing abilities fail me, take my word for granted that it was much funnier at the time.

The daytime on the lake was wonderfully lazy. Jon and I both the majority of our time with reading. He's rereading the collected set of the Vampire Chronicles that I got him not too long ago. I'm glad he enjoys the stuff I get him but it is so hard to get him to read new things! He finds some great sci-fi or fantasy series and he's liable to reread the damn books twenty times! I know he's read all the RA Salvatore books four times through at least. As for me, I had a giant book on Kabbalah I was going through. Tons of food for thought in there. When we weren't reading, we took dips in the lake (which was amazingly cold despite the heat), and played cards with our grandparents. I think I also made one or two attempts at tanning, but it didn't go as well as I had hoped. Despite my best efforts, I forgot to put sunscreen on my love handles and got slightly pink there. I did get a few oppertunities during the day to ask my grandparents about their lives and to listen. There's so much about them that I don't know and a lot that they've been through that I will probably never fully understand or appreciate. Nonetheless, after talking about this with my aunt Shauna, I've kind of reached the conclusion that they probably are just as much in the dark about me. Its strange, because my nana and papa both talk about very fond memories of taking care of me when I was little. For the most part though, I cannot remember the events they relate. We used to be very close, but as my parents then chose to move first to Southern California and later to Washington, we're having to start things over again as far as knowing each other in many respects.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com