Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Should I Date the Israeli Soldier? 2004-09-17 @ 3:06 p.m.

So, jessamine79, are you still up for that switching of jobs? Cause I just used this last break to walk out of sociology class, and I don't feel guilty about it one bit! The more I learn, the more I find out just how stupid, biased and short-sighted this entire discipline is! Not to mention my obnoxious professor, who won't stop stop stop stop stop stuttering, and whose response to my criticisms of theories are, "Well, you're just wrong". We already took the daily quiz anyway, so I am not missing much. The guy does nothing but rehash the readings anyway - I'm beginning to reach the conclusion that we could very well have the class without him by just following the syllabus.

So Wednesday afternoon, I decided to skip art history class so I could head home early and meet Tomi over in Berkeley for lunch on the way. I got there ridiculously early, so I ended up walking around the entire perimeter of UC Berkeley, and then some more because I took a wrong turn somewhere. Tomi met up with me outside the school pub, right after I watched a guy get thrown out for disorderly conduct and then proceed to curse the bartender and his mama. Tomi's Internet photo was taken from a deceptive angle, hiding his large Jewish nose. We had a great lunch with a really yummy Greek salad, but I don't know if this guy is relationship material for me. We'd make great friends I think. Then again, that is what I said about Brant and then I ended up spending 2/3 of Labor Day Weekend with him in Sacramento. I think the biggest thing about Tomi is the fact that he was an Israeli soldier for three years. I thought the minimum requirement was only a year, but I was wrong - all guys have to do three years and two years for the girls. I just don't know if I could date someone who has probably done some things I really detest. And he's somewhat nerdy too. Really hairy also... but that can be kind of a turn on in my strange little mind.

Officially, when it comes to the whole Israeli/Palestinian issue, I try to stay neutral because I just don't think I am that well informed about it. I think atrocities have been commited and are still being commited on both sides of the conflict. I know that Sharon is an asshole who is only making the situation worse. Not that the Suicide Bombers are helping much either. Part of the reason I decided not to get involved with Hillel on campus is that they were way too into mixing this political issue in with Judaism. Call me an American, but I try to keep politics and religion from mixing too much. My friend Serene is really adamantly anti-Zionist, Palestinian liberation. She gets real zealous about this whole issue. Serene would probably flip if she knew I went on a date with an Israeli. But she and I have agreed for some time that I need to do more research and get informed on this issue. I guess now is a good time, seeing as it is bound to come up in conversation sooner or later.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com