Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

No Sleep Tonight 2004-10-26 @ 2:37 a.m.

I was not able to get to sleep tonight, so after about an hour of trying I gave up and decided to stay up and get more stuff done. It really is not that bad because I do not think I ever really felt that tired to begin with. My eyes were the only part of my body that felt sleepy, and even then it seemed to be a conditioned response that wore off after I had the lights on for awhile. Not that I have done anything terribly exciting tonight. I knocked off another hundred pages or so of sociology of religion reading and am almost caught up, or at least I like to think so. I do not know if I can read any more of it now. What a pain this class has been. I really thought it was going to be different, but even if I had gotten a much better professor, I guess I just don't agree with the fundamental approach of the field. Religion is so much more than socialization and institutional memberships. These guys only study the surface of it. I think a class on religious psychology would have been much more interesting and rewarding. When I get caught up with everything I am planning to get back to reading William James "The Varieties of Religious Experience". Excellent book - I highly recommend it - it is very readable, and was originally a series of lectures.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com