Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Planning for the Future 2004-10-27 @ 4:36 p.m.

I have started to really get serious about preparing and applying for graduate school. I'm past the "sounds like an interesting idea" phase and am on to doing real research and test preparation. We had a sort of fair for grad schools today at SSU and I decided to forsake the first five minutes of art history and check things out. I got information from the Institute for Imaginal Studies, the Institute for Transpersonal Psychology, and a little more information about the Graduate Theological Union via one of the member schools run by the Dominicans. I also got online to get some information about the California Institute for Integral Studies before I went to a workshop on applying to graduate school.

The workshop was put on by the Kaplan guys, and at first I was rather annoyed. The brocheres (spelling?) they were giving us to work with looked just like deceptive advertisements for their company and the guy running our workshop was in a suit and talking in bullshit business/PR mode. God I hate suits. Businessmen are the fucking servants of Samael. I should know - I had two of them for roomates, and most of the stress and problems in my dad's life have been due to the idiot MBAs he has had to work with who think they are such hot shit but really don't know dick. Ok, I will admit I am not really being fair here. Aaron and Casey weren't that bad... well, Aaron anyway. And I'm sure I've just offended some nice business person out there who used to like to read my diary. Its just that I tend to be suspicious of people whose primary orientation and goal in life is to make more money than God. The fact that they tend to be conservative white protestant straight men does not help things, and being the liberal hippie I am, it rather annoys me how much power they have in our country that they really do not deserve. Now, all of you out there that work in businesses but don't feel any love for them, understand I am not talking about you. And I am not talking about Brant either, because he's in graphic design so he's artsy and doesn't count. I just tend to be of the opinion that businessmen are driven by greed and I tend not to like them.

Well, the workshop got a little better halfway in. The guy started talking about the seven things you need to do to apply for grad school and gave lots of good tips on what to do and what to avoid at all costs. Ideas started bubbling in my mind about what I need to do. The more important question of what I want to do and what direction I am taking myself and my life in is going to take more time to figure out, though I have been giving it a lot of thought lately. I've found then when I go by the Joseph Campbell "follow your bliss" principle I tend to be more happy and useful to the world. Figuring out what exactly I do best and what will make me happy enough to make a career out of it is somewhat tricky though.

In other news, I went by the Unitarian Church the other day to see about a job teaching religious school and I got a call back that evening. I need to submit a resume, but my resume as it stands is in need of serious revitalization. I will be really happy if I could get that job though - the lady in the message said they were looking for a youth advisor to work with junior high age kids, and I actually am pretty good with that. I love teaching in general and spent awhile trying to figure out what age group I wanted to teach when I was older. While I like all of them, I narrowed it down to either high school or college, and then decided I liked teaching college students best. My main reason is that it gives you a chance to open up their horizons to going beyond basics, and you get to help them unlearn all the crap they've accumulated throughout the years.

Two months till Christmas Jessie tells me... that will be a nice break. Soothing music, log fires, yummy drinks and food, family and friends and Christmas cards. The way this semester is going, it will be a well received break.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com