Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Getting back in Shape 2004-11-10 @ 4:12 p.m.

I have found myself getting quite physically active again after having not done serious exercise for a long time. My inspiration stemmed out of my meditation practice. It started where I had difficulty sitting still with good posture and it occured to me I ought to do something about that. As I investigated my body more intuitively, it told me I needed to definitely do more stretching and exercise. I suspect part of the reason my muscles have been a pain at night is that they have been atrophing due to lack of use.

I started out simple, working on the idea that my body already knows what it needs and stretching intuitively. After a little exploration, I found that I could easily change the focus or intensity of each stress by slightly changing my position. This is really neat because there are some of my muscle groups that get much more uptight than others.

Now, I'm getting to the point where I am stretching regularly every day or so and starting to practice yoga and pilates. In addition, I am also getting back into reviewing my old aikido skills and doing the exercises to keep that in shape. I am actually kind of pumped about all this - I always say when I go up north to do Aikido that next time I am going to keep in shape and be really flexible for the summer when I can train. Now, I may actually be getting serious about that. I have even ventured into the weight room a couple times, and for the first time I have actually been happy with what I've done there. My choice of machines (and I do prefer the control and precision of the machines to the scary and sudden free weights) is rather eclectic, but it should help to strengthen my back and hips, which will really help my Aikido. For the first time, I am actually enjoying it too - I'm working just enough so that my muscles feel spent, but not enough so that they feel sore or hurt. Balance is a great thing - I've never believed in that "no pain, no gain" crap anyway. And oh my God... there are some beautiful, hot hot hot guys I get to see at the rec center. I gotta keep this up

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com