Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Long, Long Day 2004-12-07 @ 11:27 p.m.

Good Lord, it has been a long day. Of course, as usual I have no one to blame but myself. The other night, I'm driving back in the rain, and I'm filled with the urge to pull off the Hearn exit and go lounge around Borders for a while. I think, "You have your midterm tomorrow - you have to study." I reply, "I can hang out at Borders and still have time to study for economics. That was true - unfortunately, economics was only one of a number of things I had to do today which I completely forgot about until last night. God, it is amazing how spaced out I can get when I go through these periods of questioning everything. I guess I just don't know how to transcend the world and still live in it.

So I got four hours of sleep last night but was able to get up at 4 without too much difficulty. I studied economics continuously until 8, when I met with Dr. Poe to talk about topics for my honors seminar next semester. That went surprisingly well. I came in with lots of ideas, and he thinks they are all interesting and worthy of research. His only concern is some of them might not have enough available sources for me to write a real thick paper on, so I'll need to do some cursory research and see how much is out there. It was good also to hear from him that he is not worrried about my religious beliefs getting in the way of my research - that's a nice vote of confidence after that horror story I heard from Dr. Abott about the student who couldn't stay objective on religious history topics.

I got done talking with Dr. Poe at around 8:30, and I spent another hour and a half finishing my readings and preping for the econ midterm. I had that at 10 and got out of there by 11, and I thought I did really well.

Next, I sat down at the library and wrote up a seven page essay for Bible Historiography. I wondered if I could pull this off in two hours, but not even my essay skills are that sharp. It took three, including 10 minutes of trying to force the essay to get to the seven page minimum when it insisted on remaining at six (I write well but I've always been so concise I tend to have to stuggle to make the minimums). And then there was another 10 minutes of waiting as the fourth in line behind this girl who fed something like $6 into the print station and was printing a fucking encyclopedia or something, because she was taking forever. At the last minute, now an hour late to class but thinking I could come in during breaktime, I attempted to backup my work by emailing my newly written paper to myself from the library. Of course, God decided to teach me a lesson at this point, and hotmail began to question the fundamental nature of the send button. "What does it mean when someone clicks 'send'?" it asked itself. "Am I only a passive sender, or do I posess free will?" "Should I link to another site to perform this, or do I want to remain here?" I eventually lost patience with hotmail's debate over the philosophic merits of sending my email (to send or not to send... that is the question). Now having missed the break period, I decided I would take the printed copy and drop it off in Poe's mailbox in the history department. Hey, maybe he'll even think I dropped it off before class. Not likely though - this is the third essay I've turned in halfway through the class it was theoretically due at the beginning of. He knows I'm not sick too... damn.

So having arrived back at the dorms, I was going to settle in for work on the trasncripts for Estes, but I ended up falling into a delicious nap on my bed. Good thing I set the alarm clock, because I was really enjoying myself. At 5, I got up, got ready to work on the transcripts, then discovered my batteries were dead and I need some real food for dinner. So I ran out to Safeway, fighting icky icky traffic, and came back to work on the transcripts until about twenty minutes ago, when I figured out that trying to finish this evening would take until 2 if not 3 am. Estes had originally offered to give me two weeks for this, but being the stupid cocky bitch I am and not realizing my tape player was back in Pleasanton, I opted to have it done by today, at 11 am no less. Well, I left him a note saying I had been delayed and would have it finished by this evening. Evening is such a lovely, vague word - it can be stretched into the next morning if properly used, and that's what I'll be doing, since its only about 70% done at this point.

Oh, and on top of everything else, Jeff took back all his dishes, silverware and pots, so now we have nothing to eat with around here. The way I see it, there are three possible reasons for this:
1) His grandmother wanted the dishes she gave him back (highly unlikely)
2) He's packing up his stuff early (somewhat unlikely)
3) He's a pathetic little bitch who wants to spite us for venting to each other about how annoying he's been these last few weeks. Hey, I did the whole passive-agressive shit last year, but I never would have sunk this low. Not to mention he threw out most of our food over Thanksgiving break under the pretext it was all moldy (some of Chris' was, but certainly not all). Chris is right - he is a bitter, bitter man, and he's going to be in for a rough life if this is his method of dealing with people. The pathetic thing is that he thinks he's better than us and pulls this "I'm all mysterious and misunderstood" crap. The guy won't even share a beer with us - I guess we're not classy enough for his tastes. Fucking closet-case redneck. Good riddance, you asshole!

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com