Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

The Songs I Listen to Again and Again 2005-01-05 @ 11:33 p.m.

Sorry that I have not written in a while. Well, half-sorry anyway. As I have said before, I always find it most difficult to write when I'm in the heat of difficult situations in my life. The last few weeks have been been painful but also quite powerful. I think I may have released myself, at least partially, from some old tapes still playing in my head from childhood days. And I may be a little more healthier for it.

You have probably noticed that when I don't know what to post I often share my favorite song lyrics. Music is a drug to me that I have never had to feel ashamed of. I have been fortunate enough in my life to meet many other people who understand the way that music can save a soul. No matter what kind of mood you're in or what you need in particular, I think there's always at least one song out there that can offer something to you that reaches down deep and consoles you.

My musical tastes are all over the place. What I listen to mostly depends on the kind of mood I am in and what I happen to be going through at any particular phase in my life. On the whole though, I probably tend to listen more to softer and happier songs. Once in a great while I'll crank up some Linkin Park or Eminem, but a lot of times I look to music as a kind of refuge to remind me of all the beautiful things in life and beyond it that I am so apt to forget about. I love great melodies and beats, but I especially admire songs and artists that devise beautiful lyrics. That may be because I have somewhat of a poetic character and words have more impact on me than other mediums. I pay close attention to the lyrics in music, often more than others. I may reject a song that everyone else likes for its beat if I find the lyrics problematic. Or I can find joy in songs no one else gets because I find the lyrics so powerful.

I dance from time to time to my music, usually alone in the privacy of my room when no one is watching. I am not a great dancer and I have embarassed Andy a time or two when I danced at Jake's. I know I look silly, but for a long time I have tried to take that adage "dance like no one is watching" to heart, because it feels so good to dance in and out of your own little world.

Of all the music I like, I probably get the most harassment about country and bluegrass. There's a lot of diversity in country though, so keep in mind that there's many country groups and songs I can't stand. 'Patriotic' country gets on my nerves in particular. I can't stand songs where some ignorant redneck proudly proclaims how he can't tell the difference between Iraq and Iran, and has no problem bombing either of them or any other country out there because America is God's gift that can do no wrong and Jesus loves him, despite the fact that everyone else thinks he's an asshole.

Of the two main genres of country that I like, the first is what's sometimes called "kickin' country". Its a country/pop fusion with lots of energy and inspiration, usually sung by absolutely adorable guys. Rascal Flatts and Kenny Chesney are two of my favorites in this category. They are both full of such happiness to be alive, they are proud of where they come from even while they are open-minded to the rest of the country and the world. They're also deeply romantic, surprisingly spiritual, and they sing about the ups and downs of life; the lessons they've learned, their regrets and the memories they cherish. Most of their songs are not written by the singers themselves, but I'll forgive them because they really collected some of the most talented song writers Nashville ever saw and gave them sweet voices in beautiful men. I want to get a poster of the 'Flatts for my room. Kenny I already have the pleasure of seeing every time I drive by the Rohnert Park exit on 101. The caption for the radio station billboard he's gracing is "Your country hunk!" Sigh... ain't it the truth. I want to run off to Mexico with him. I've got a crush on the Rascal Flatts too, but I have to fantasize about them individually because two of them are cousins. Gary's my favorite of the bunch, which might surprise you because by typical standards most people wouldn't find him that attractive. But I don't mind guys who have a little extra padding - especially if they have a bright voice and a beautiful smile and the cutest laugh. Ah...

Well, now that I've made a fool of myself... oh yeah. The other genre of country I like is new bluegrass. Bluegrass almost died out as a genre, but my two favorite artists here, Alison Krauss and Nickel Creek, have brought it back. This music is just so beautiful it makes me cry sometimes. Its so honest and yet so pretty. I love these artists in particular for their soul soothing voices and their gorgeous lyrics. Alison actually discovered Sara, Sean and Chris and got them started with her record label. The Nickel Creek bunch is, funny enough, from San Diego of all places (odd for a bluegrass group, eh?). But wow... any time I need to feel deeply peaceful, I know I can rely on any of them.

I should ramble more often - I get more writen.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com