Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Three Things Quiz I stole from Desiree 2005-01-06 @ 11:50 a.m.

Ok, technically I didn't get invited to join in this quiz - but it looked like fun and I haven't done a good quiz in a while. Narcisist I am, you gotta know I love talking about myself.

***

THREE NAMES YOU GO BY ::

1) Dave - A version of my name I adopted in high school because I thouht it made me sound cooler. My given name/Jewish name, David, makes me feel young and vulnerable when I hear it, so I've kind of worked it so I don't hear it that often.

2) D.K. - My mom and my dear friend Kendra use this endearment with me constantly.

3) Joseph David - My spiritual name. Technically, my Christian name, as I got it when I was baptised about two years ago. But an esoteric baptism is not a typical baptism, just like Gnosticism is not your typical Christianity. So I mostly just use it when doing spiritual stuff.

At the risk of cheating, another spiritual name I have is my Vigil Honor name from Order of the Arrow (Boy Scouts' Honor Society). Its "Tsiltsil tsimquan" (if I got the spelling right) - anyway, its Chinook jargon for "Star Eyes". I gave myself that name, because my lodge was uncool enough to break tradition and not let someone else who knew me well name me.


THREE SCREEN NAMES YOU HAVE HAD ::
1 ) Optimystic - I've had this screename since junior high, although a lot of times I have felt, and been told, that I don't really live up to it. My optimism is that I and the rest of my species will overcome the despair and sin and sadness that clouds our vision. And while I was a huge Yanni fan in junior high, I actually think I came up with this name on my own and was only later tickled to find an album of the same name, albeit different spelling.

2)explorer42 - A name I used back in junior high and high school when I was getting my, er... "sex education" on the Internet.

3)entity - I don't know why this comes to mind other than I'm running out of screenames, but I used this when playing Bolo the tank game online in junior high. And I remember everyone had no idea what it meant. Oh well - I sucked at that game anyway; it was stupid to begin with.

THREE THINGS YOU LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF ::

1) I use a fair amount of critical thinking, although I have a problem where I have a tendency to either do too much or not enough. Can't seem to find a balance here - just like everything else in my life.

2) I care a lot about spiritual issues. I think a lot of people are too scared to really ask the big questions about the nature of life and God and such. I don't like the polarity I see where people either ignore or deny the spiritual side of existence or they swallow somebody else's beliefs and interpretations without really searching themselves - this is why the fundamentalists/literalists get on my nerves.

3) I try to be very honest, although I can do it to the point of bluntness sometimes. I have seen very few situations where lying is a good choice, although there are some (usually when life and death are involved). I guess I have this deep hope that if I try to be honest to everyone else the universe will be honest back to me. I hate being lied to perhaps more than anything, no matter how much it hurts to hear the truth. And I mean that, because I have heard many painful truths over the years that I almost wish I hadn't heard.

THREE THINGS YOU DON'T LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF ::
1) I'm ridiculously insecure. I hate how I have such a good life and family and had it so much easier than others growing up, yet I still find so many things to worry about and constantly doubt my ability to navigate life successfully (or even my ability to let God do it for me).

2) I'm too smart for my own good. Because of it, I've never been able to really enjoy the age I'm at because I always feel thirty years older. On top of that, I have a tendency to pontificate to other people in a really arrogant way. I justify it to myself by saying that even if I hurt them I can't let them get away with hurting themselves or others in the long run, but the truth is I'm just a stuck-up ass who is just as judgemental as my grandmother.

3) I have a case of acne I have been batttling since as long as I can remember. It is not nearly as bad as it used to be, but I can't seem to get it to go away for good. I've tried almost everything, but the revelation in the last year or so that it might be stress related has explained a lot (your skin is like a third kidney in many ways).

THREE PARTS OF YOUR HERITAGE ::
1) Child of God, as are you.
2) Ashkenazic Jewish
3) Western-European Mutt

THREE THINGS THAT SCARE YOU ::
1) That the universe truly is hopeless and that everything about our existence might ultimately be in vain.
2) What God thinks of me. I get really conflicting messages on the subject, and I haven't figured out how to discern the Good Lord's will for myself yet.
3) Being powerless to change my faults, and having to watch myself screw up again and again.

THREE OF YOUR EVERYDAY ESSENTIALS ::
1) Keys
2) Wallet
3) Resignation to get through life

THREE THINGS YOU ARE WEARING RIGHT NOW ::
1) Boxers
2) Jeans
3) Steel gray shirt

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE BANDS OR MUSICAL ARTISTS (at the moment) ::
1) Nickel Creek
2) U2
3) Alison Krauss

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE SONGS (at the moment)::
1) When You Come Back Down - Nickel Creek
2) Human Touch - Bruce Springsteen
3) Feels Like Today - Rascal Flatts

THREE NEW THINGS YOU WANT TO TRY IN THE NEXT 12 MONTHS ::
1) Having faith that everything will work out for the best
2) Falling in love with someone who falls in love with me
3) Moving towards financial independence

THREE THINGS YOU WANT IN A RELATIONSHIP ::
1) Intense physical attraction
2) Humor
3) Everyday Inspiration

TWO TRUTHS AND A LIE ::
1) I was a spoiled kid
2) I have a battle with my own mind everyday to stay positive
3) I can eat the variety and quantity of foods that I did when I was younger with no problems.

THREE PHYSICAL THINGS ABOUT THE OPPOSITE SEX (or same) THAT APPEAL TO YOU :: (This would be same for me if you didn't know already)

1) Size (as in tallness, although the other size is great too). Its hard enough to find someone taller than me (I'm 6'1"), but I also really go for guys that have a real physical presence. This is especially difficult to find because from my experience, all the out gay guys tend to be ectomorphs. I really go for hot guys with broad shoulders and thick muscles, padded with enough fat so that their veins don't stick out and their strength is complemented by a softness, so that you can just immerse yourself in them without feeling like they'll break you apart. Think football players - I do :) Its unusual, I know, but I don't think I can really change what turns me on, now can I?

2) Face - I love men with unique, beautiful faces; faces that stick in your head for the rest of your life. I love all kinds of beautiful eyes, but especially gem shades of green and blue. I tend to like full lips, and noses that aren't too big but aren't small. Square chins are really hot to me for some reason, especially if a guy has hair growing on them (soul patches I think they're called). I like guys with broader face structures, so that even their faces look strong in a way.

3) Arms - Huge thick guns on a guy is the hottest thing to me. I like guys with really meaty arms too, and I prefer them to have a decent amount of hair on them.

Wow... that was revealing. I'm just gonna blush now for a while...

THREE THINGS YOU JUST CAN'T DO ::
1) Give up
2) Be Straight (I'm finally beginning to believe this on a subconscious level - although the sheer amount of cathartic joy I get from homosex should have tipped me off)
3) Change the past - oh but God, I wish I could.

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE HOBBIES ::
1) Sex
2) The Internet
3) Anything I do with my brother

THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO REALLY BADLY RIGHT NOW ::
1) Get laid - all this talk about my sex life has gotten to me.
2) Get all my shit out of the way so I can get on with my life.
3) Have a mystical experience and talk with God one-on-one. Apparently there used to be tens of thousands of prophets, but now we have to rely on somebody else's interpretation of an ancient book from a patriarchal culture to get a vague idea of what God wants us to do.

THREE CAREERS YOU'RE CONSIDERING ::
1) Priest - The problem with this is that all the clergy I ever really respected didn't do it full time. They had lives too, and if God ever ordains me, I don't think I'd be doing it full time either. I agree with Ben Maimon - its healthier to have a career on the side than do this full time.

2) Humanitarian work - It would be so fulfilling and I'd finally get a chance to really make a differnce and maybe change some minds on all the issues I give so much lip service too. Problem is, there's so many causes - which one would I serve best, and how?

3) Teaching - I may end up becoming a professor, but regardless of whether I ever get any kind of accredation or not (spelling?), I want to share what little I know with others, and help them awaken to the truth already within them, like Socrates and Jesus did.

THREE PLACES YOU WANT TO GO ON VACATION ::
1) Europe - My ancestral home, and a place where history is everywhere you look. And where they tend not to be such repressed tight-asses.

2) Japan - I think with some work on what little I learned in high school, I could get the language down. But oh... the technology, the natural beauty, the martial arts, the culture of respect - I could really dig that.

3) Israel/Palestine - This is really a suicidal wish, and God forbid I ever take money or aid from the Zionists to go there. But I do want to see the place where my religion came from, and maybe grow closer to God in the process. And yet, the holy land is awash in blood, and if I ever did go, I might happened to be consumed with God's anger when I did. Someday, perhaps, I think I will be able to offer something to help stop the horrors there. But this conflict is tied to the heart of who I am, and who all of us are. That's why it has been so difficult to stop - we're too scared to really take a good look at the whole story, and how we've all contributed to it one way or another.

THREE KID'S NAMES ::
I'm confused - as in names I'd give my kids? That's probably the easiest.
1) Seth
2) Gabriel
3) Raz
They all happen to be characters in my fiction writing too.


THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO BEFORE YOU DIE ::
1) Experience God as deeply as I can
2) Make a mark in history for the better
3) See Europe

THREE WAYS I AM STEREOTYPICALLY A BOY ::
1) I'm ridiculosly stoic and tend to bottle a lot of my emotions, as well as being too rationalistic about everything and looking at the universe in a fashion that is too linear.
2) I looooooooooooove sex. My drive has slowed down markedly since high school though - I used to be like a nuclear reactor.
3) I'm an adventurer at heart, and I love to fight for the good stuff.

THREE WAYS I AM STEREOTYPICALLY A CHICK ::
1) I'm gay, which means I sleep with men and a significant portion of my mind works more like a girl's than a guy's.
2) My right brain naturally dominates, although in denial of this I have really made my left brain work ridiculously hard to convince myself that I was doing the manly intellectual thing. So I guess I'm kind of even at this point.
3) Every now and then I will do something so girly that even I have to say, "That is SO gay".

THREE CELEB CRUSHES ::
1) Scott Caan - hot hot hot hot hot
2) Vin Diesel - he reminds me a lot of an old roomate in some ways.
3) Nicholas Brendon, strangely enough. His character was just so warm and cuddly. Now he's in rehab though.

THREE PEOPLE WHO HAVE TO TAKE THIS QUIZ NOW ::
1) Supermom3604
2) Jessamine79
3) Anybody else who feels like it would be fun - just do it for the hell of it like I did.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com