Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Different Strokes 2005-01-22 @ 11:08 a.m.

I think this year is going to be different for me. I do not say such things lightly, but stuff has changed. Not so much in that the cicumstances of my life are different, but my perceptions and reactions and such are growing more mature I guess.

Reading Conversations with God triggered something in me. It just happened to be the right book at the right time. It has been a very long time since a spiritual book really hit me like that. I talk to people on The Other Side all the time who read some book with what I consider basic spiritual truths and are just gaga for days. I think part of the beauty of truth in words is that we aren't all dependant on one book to wake us up. Technically, we don't even need books at all to grow spiritually, but I think its wonderful how something different works for everybody. This is one of the reasons I don't like how people treat the Bible. I have found a lot of very powerful truths in there, but not everyone needs the Bible in order to be 'saved'. Eventually, we can all get to a point where as the prophecy says, the law will be written on our hearts and minds, and no man will turn to his neighbor and say "Know the Lord".

My Aikido skills have been improving I think. I am starting to move into the level of principles and intuitive understandings that tie all the techniques together. The things I heard all along are only becoming more and more apparent. The center is everything - all else must move in harmony with it. Even as I'm discovering these new delights, I'm also saddened as I become more aware of some of the politics going on behind the scenes with my dojos, senseis and the styles. Schisms are so sad - I hate it when people can't see eye to eye to the point where they have to go seperate ways. But as long as people place importance in opinions, I suppose they are bound to happen. Its happened with me several times. I want to say such things are stupid, but I know that at the time it feels more important than ever. Sometimes you can't compromise. Or rather, as I and those I know have sometimes found, you outgrow your teachers. You realize something more important than an institution or a set of procedures.

Sensei Holloway believes that the Nihon Goshin Aikido association will fall apart in the future. Given what I am learning of the situation, I think that is likely too. Many schools are dropping away. Senseis are being given honorary promotions without gaining new understandings. Egos are getting involved. And there are issues surrounding sucession after Shihan Bowe passes on. Sensei Holloway chose to leave because they would not allow him to teach NGA side by side with other styles of Aikido, even if he kept things seperate. Such ego...

I have learned all my techniques now for my next rank, but I have a bunch of review and polishing I need to do before I test for Ni-kyu (Student 2nd Class - Purple belt). I have envisioned being an Aikido instructor in the future, but now I wonder about what kind of things will come to pass if I ever get to where I can be a sensei myself. Will I have to deal with all these crap politics too? Will I be forced to leave my own style? All I can do I guess is follow the Spirit within me. It comes and goes like the wind, and no one knows it but I and the Father.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com