Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

You mean... I have another email address? 2005-02-15 @ 10:40 a.m.

There was one class I forgot to mention a few posts ago that I am still trying to get involved with. Its the class that publishes our history department journal. An easy two credits, and I get to work with Dr. Halavais again (she is very cool). Problem is, I haven't been able to find any schedule for the class. Until a few days ago, everywhere I went in the department said "arranged". Then I finally had the bright idea to check if there was a class web page. Sure enough, first meeting was on last tuesday at 11. So here I am at the meeting spot in the library, hoping I can catch Dr. Halavais and that the meeting times and places haven't changed. For the record, I did make at least one phone call and send an email asking about the class a while ago, so I am not a complete slacker.

The class web page for the history journal had mentioned that we should have received an email about the class. I never got anything in my hotmail so I actually went in and checked my SSU email account. I never check my SSU email account. In all probability, 90% of the campus doesn't check their SSU email account. Its gotten very annoying this year, because apparently the beaurocracy has decided that they will only send announcements to these accounts. So I have to check it a little more often now.

So I open up the thing and...wow, 56 new messages. Going back for months. And not counting all the junk mail the computer was smart enough to identify and stick in a separate folder. Except this email program does the stupidest things I've ever seen - it sends regular 'reports' to your inbox about how much shit is in the junk mail folder. 1/4 of the stuff in my inbox must have been junk mail reports. Unbelievable...

And what an amazing amount of junk mail was in there! I get almost as much junk mail on this account as I do on my hotmail one, and I've never given it out to anyone but teachers! Did the school give out my email to marketers for money? It wouldn't be the first time - the military was all over me like a rash since 9th grade when Redmond High School gave them my address. I was only slightly less pissed when I later found out they were required to do so by law.

I thought I'd take this oppertunity to dispel an old e-scam for any of you who haven't gotten it before. I got about twelve copies of this in my SSU account. If an alleged dignitary from a third world country writes you a lengthy letter begging your help to get money out of their country that was lost in the revolution that toppled the Grand Poobah, don't buy it. As much as I love you all, what makes you so important that Ambassador Djwinkiwhateverhisnameis would entrust you, a complete stranger, with his financial security? What really happens is that, in order to "complete the transaction", you end up sticking a ton of money in the bank, and like a jackass expect that your share of the million dollars will be sent to you. Except it never happens. The FBI has been after these guys for a while. So long story short, if you are really that important, they can contact you in person.

Oh, one other joyful piece of junk - apparently ex-roomie Jeff sent me a flame-mail demanding to know why he got charged with cleaning fees from the end of last semester. Funny, because I don't remember my dad saying anything about getting hit with fees. I was in a hurry to get out anyway that day because I had a date, and Chris and Jeff were both gone when I got back from class. That letter is so old I don't know whether to write back. I guess I could investigate the matter some more, dig up Jeff's address and send him a check. But honestly, what kind of response does the guy expect when he begins the email with "This is Jeff, your hated roomate from last semester"? Its shit like this that always pissed me off - how he could have such a superiority complex, accuse the rest of us of being childish and immature, and then go off and act like a whiny bitch. When I get some time, I'll look into this, but I think if I do write him back, the best thing to do will probably to be completely polite and civil. That ought to piss him off more than anything.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com