Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Project Censored, How I Love Thee April 20, 2005 @ 2:51 p.m.

Ah, the joy of working at Project Censored. Two little offices, side by side, with big windows that might provide light and serenity but face directly into the sun and thus have to be closed most of the time. Interns and two paid professionals running around trying to juggle multiple tasks and unable to figure out why everyone is unaware of the frustration of their current assignments. Extra pizza lying around for everyone who forgot to have lunch. CDs and file folders and articles and computers full of hot stories. We try to stay focus, but its so easy to get into discussions about ideology and trying to figure out what the heck the Right is thinking. You'd think we were running a guerilla operation of a sort.

The Intern room is full, so I step into Trish's office to use her relatively well-behaved macintosh. Peter calls trish with yet another exciting new idea he wants to make happen in two days. Trish warns him she will not be able to make this happen so quickly. Peter insists. Trish hangs up and proceeds to vent to me. I try to stay somewhat neutral given I still have grades at stake at some point.

Trish leaves for some kind of appointment, worried about the black ink that got on her shirt; which doesn't seem that bad to me but apparently justifies a change of clothing. Several people who need Trish arrive to see her after she has left, including a girl who is supposed to a presentation for a secondary school teacher who she has been unable to contact. She's understandably frustrated. I send her back to Kate, who's been back and forth between the main office and the intern room a couple of times, talking with me for a little while about the story I'm working on. A story that made it into the top 25 and is going to get me published in the Censored 2006 book, which will be read by tens of thousands of people. A story which may very well make up for an otherwise fair college career and guarantee me a spot in a decent grad school (when the time is right).

Between discussing the rise of Christian Reconstructionism and the anti-gay protestors at Rancho Cotati High School with Trish, promising to translate my subject into English for Kate, helping Girl: Interrupted out, responding to a dozen action alerts and cleaning out a hundred or so political emails, I realize something. I still haven't gotten around to my story research after two hours, but I'm still having a good old time.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com