Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

A Beary Funny Breakfast May 16, 2005 @ 12:49 p.m.

My lazyness has been gradually wearing off, ever so slowly. Quite a relief. I think its coming along in tandem with the general restoration of my faith in life.

I had breakfast this morning at the Country Bear Restaurant here in Rohnert Park. Usually very good food - large portions and a nice atmosphere. I had a real sweet waitress named Shannon who threw me for a little loop because she looked not much older than me but called people by such affectionisms as "hon". Normally, I'm used to hon being reserved for older women and gay men. So I kind of wondered if maybe she was older than I thought - although not necessarily.

Anyway, poor Shannon was having a hard morning. The cooks apparently were being a pain in the ass. When I first got there, I sat down at the barstools and noticed there was a ton of food plates piling up faster than the waitresses could get them out to the customers. Then over the next half hour, the food was not only very slow getting out, but some of the waitresses were noticing that it was darker than usual. Also, there was a mushroom shortage going on and communication from the kitchens to the tables was not going smoothly. And Shannon also noticed that there was some glasses and utensils not getting properly washed.

She apologized to me multiple times while I waited, but I really wasn't bothered at all, because I was deep into my book, The Impossible Will Take a Little Time (I'm thinking I should start my day with inspirational material more often - its a great anti-despair medication). When at last I got my food, I took one of the new lazy-friendly ketchup bottles and squeezed some ketchup for my hash browns, not noticing as I did that a little piece of plastic fell off into my food. The next minute, I noticed the peppers in my omelette were a little too crunchy. Poor Shannon happened to be there when I discovered the plasic piece and called an emergency meeting with her manager, who then came up and apologized to me and explained that this was happening with all the new ketchup bottles and it was the responsibility of the staff to remove those pieces so they didn't end up on people's omelettes.

Anyway, at the end of breakfast, I had finished a whole section of my book, gotten a free meal, and made a friend. Poor Shannon - even if the meal was free, I still decided to leave her a nice tip.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com