Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Peace vs. Truth May 29, 2005 @ 11:21 a.m.

My family and I are staying at the WorldMark timeshare resort in Windsor at the moment. We'll be heading back today, although my grandparents are going to be here for another week. They invited me to stay with them, but I opted out. Luckily mom was there for backup to help me find a polite way out of it. Its not that I don't love my grandparents - its just that I have very little in common with them, which makes for really ackward conversations and activities. Plus my grandmother, as I have pointed out before, is extremely judgmental and loves to blame all the ills of the world on liberals and my generation.

The amazing thing is that the other night when we were out at dinner, and she started going off about how she's so proud to never give any movie that has swearing or sex in the first 20 minutes a chance, my dad actually joined in with me in debating the issue. That surprised me - I had to have two mixed vodka drinks and a couple glasses of wine before I was ready to speak my mind on such issues, but dad didn't seem to have any problem arguing about this... even getting loud in that scary way he's done from time to time. Maybe he's just had it with Nana like I have. But anyway, the whole table got into this argument about films and television and whether they should reflect the way things ought to be or the way things really are (you can probably guess who took what side in this issue). I was just left wondering afterwards - did she take it personally? Is my grandmother ok with me, and in this case my dad, having such violently opposed opinions on so many things? Ugh... I always feel torn between trying to keep the peace and trying to keep it real. There is just so much of culture, if not life, that I think she misses out on because she prejudges it.

I've been really enjoying my music the last few days. I had a little Norah Jones festival the other day, and now I'm having a good old time with David Gray. You know, I got on his website for the first time in a long time a few days ago, and I didn't realize how incredibly cute he is. I played a little adlib video where he's getting interviewed in a bar and he starts singing "Be Mine". And he's absolutely adorable - I mean its the cutest song to begin with, but his smiling face just makes it even better.

I've been feeling my writing spirit coming back to me as my responsibilities have become more manageable. I have a lot of new ideas I want to try out, and a lot of in-progress plots and stories I want to go back and finish. You know what would be really cool? I would love to link all the characters in my various stories together into a bigger world. Like have them all follow their various series, and then tie them together later on. That would be really cool. Its so nice that my imagination is coming back to me. I've even started doing Tarot again, and my skill is returning. I even did a self-reading, which in the past I've been notoriously bad at. Its a lot harder to be objective AND insightful about yourself.

Oh, and you know what I did yesterday that was absolutely shameless and yet sinfully delightful? I got a call from Dave on Craig's list, told my parents I was going over to see a friend for a few hours, then proceeded to drive to Rio Nido for an amazing booty call. And wow... that guy was WELL endowed. And even with the great sex, I still had time to go over to Borders, read up on Egyptian esoteric history, and make it back to Windsor in time for dinner.

"Did you have a good time with your friend?" they asked.
"Fantastic" I answered.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com