Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

What I've been up to June 08, 2005 @ 11:46 a.m.

My grandparents are downstairs listening to Rush Limbaugh at the moment, so I've decided to stay upstairs for a while and do some more writing and other net work. Last I heard, Rush was talking about casualties in Iraq, and from what little I picked up, it sounded like he was either trying to play down the numbers or talking about how people were being hypocritical and didn't have any right to complain about all the people dying. Rush Limbaugh calling people hypocrites...hehehe. Does the word VICODIN mean anything to him? Luckily, I have my parent's room to myself for now, and with the magical power of Bruce Springsteen, I have temporarily declared this a conservative free zone!

Kate called me the other day from Project Censored and caught the fact that in all the midst of our work together, I hadn't turned in my disk and she still needed my final synopses. I think before I want to give her that though I want to go back and confirm a few things and fill in more of the chart I made. I'm worried I got some of the regulatory agencies mixed up (so many acronyms to remember) and some of my assertions might need to be reevaluated, unless I want to get sued for libel. Speaking of acronyms, my bro and I played a fun game the other day in the spa to see how many government agency acronyms we could remember, and what they stood for. Try it sometime.

So...what all have I been doing the last few weeks? Let's see - I watched the third season of Six Feet Under. The first half was kind of surreal and slow, and very different than previous seasons. The second half though was just intense! The way they crafted it was brilliant - you end up feeling just as guilty and bewildered and scared when Lisa disspears as Nate does. The one new character I don't really go for is Arthur. He's just creepy. And having Ruth flirt with him was creepier. Not to mention a non-sequiter when she meets James Cromwell and decides to marry him after two episodes.

I've been going through a ton of books. I got my brother a copy of Paradise Lost for school and he got a kick out of it. I'm thinking I might want to read it myself. I finished Michael Ford's Alec Baldwin Doesn't Love Me and went through and read the followup, That'sMr.Faggot to You. I liked the second one better than the first. I have fallen in love with this whole style genre that he and David Sedaris have going - write about the strange and funny things that have happened in your own crazy life. It works particularly well for gay authors I think because our lives are just queer to begin with and this style of writing really brings that out in all its strangness and silliness. I want to write like that. And these authors are so open and comfy - they share so much with you, even their laziness when it comes to writing and what they're really doing most of the time. I love it! It makes me think they would make good friends if I ever met them.

On the nonfiction side, I've really been delving into the esoteric. I've been reading up on Hermetics, Qabbalah, and Magic, and what I'm finding is fascinating. I think High Magic appeals to me a lot more than Low Magic, which is what the popular and the majority of books on magic are on in the marketplace today. I have a theory that in general, guys work better with high and girls with low. High isn't better than low necessarily though. I just find high magic is more intellectual and low is more intuitive. I am not one of these people who can just pick up a crystal and start receiving impressions, and I get mad that so many books out there outline all these methods and say that all you have to do is ask a question and listen for an answer. I'm sorry - I know many people who can do that, mostly girls, but I am not that psychic. There's a lot of us that can't just jump into the pool so easily. I like having the theory and structure of rituals - it helps me.

In addition, I've been really excited to learn about evocation and different orders and kinds of spiritual entities. Its helped me put a lot of things in perspective and understand where all these heretofore confusing experiences I've heard about fit in. Its starting to even help me figure out what happened with Novus Spiritus. What I'm coming to realize is that people like Sylvia Browne and Jon Edwards are truly psychic, but like so many mediums in the new age and spiritist movements, they can be fairly uncritical about the messages they get. Spirits, though real, can decieve. A very interesting finding in my research that more and more mages are coming to concensus on is that often, when humans die and move on, they leave shells of their personalities on the astral plane just as they leave bodies behind to decompose in our world. What's sad is that a lot of times, spirits with both bad and good motives will occupy these shells and then proceed to deceive family members, and sometimes even themseleves, that they are beloved, dead relatives. They can use the impressions in both the shell and the memories and minds of the believing relatives to call up real memories, behaiors and events which are confirmable. However, it takes special training and discernment to tell whether these ghosts are really the souls of your loved ones or just spirits playing with their memories. The problem, which has been going on for over a century, is that many people are so excited to get ANY message from the spiritual world that they just swallow whole whatever any spirit tells them, thus explaining the massive genre of literature channeled from spirits, which often has useful information and techniques but also has a lot lacking and presents dangers should one try to construct a cosmology and relgion based on such channelings, as Novus Spiritus has done.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com