Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Old Gods and Old Friends June 21, 2005 @ 9:32 a.m.

Summer is in full swing! Happy Solstice!

My magical training is going very well now. Through the books I obtained, I was able to learn some pretty amazing things about just how big and diverse the multiverse really is and how powerful humans can be if we just dedicate ourselves to waking up. And as exciting and satisfying as getting all this good theoretical foundation is, I'm even more excited that I'm moving forward and putting words into practice. I've pretty much got the Lesser Banishing Ritual of the Pentagram down, and last night I tried out the Middle Pillar Exercise. Wow - that was powerful! At some point while I was chanting God's Names, I just kind of felt myself harmonicly click. Suddenly, the chants seemed so natural - the right pitch, volume and tone all came into alignment. And wow, it sounded beautiful! After I was done, the silence in the room sounded all the more profound for the work done. I wonder if perhaps the solstice and the moon phase added a little pizazz to my efforts?

I went over to Santa Rosa late last Friday to witness and support Roxy in some theurgy of her own. Roxy has been devoted to Djehuti (Thoth) for some time, but apparently he really wants to grant her some of the deepest stuff and make her a high priestess. In accordane, she has pledged to remain celibate for the next two years. I talked with her about it and asked if it was really necessary. She doesn't see sex as bad in any way, and she carefully discussed the details and the reasons for this vow with Djehuti. Its interesting to learn that given the old gods have so few worshippers left, they often have their supplicants perform seemingly unnecessary tasks for the pure sake of proving their devotion and honoring their wills. Roxy explains this and other actions as requests the gods make to help remember their "glory days".

I enjoy talking with Roxy about her faith, and she is happy to answer many tough questions. In my way of understanding these things, based on my research, the pagan gods usually fall between the extremes of Christian angels and demons. Neither spurning worship and submiting entirely to God's will or placing themselves in direct opposition to it, these spiritual entities are like us in many ways, in that they can do both good and bad and have mixture in their personalities. Pagan deities and spirits are not as narrowly defined as monotheistic Gods are because they don't have to be. Its difficult for many of us to understand with our upbringing, but polytheists see no problem with having multiple, even contradictory conceptions of the Divine. They don't feel obligated to have just one way of viewing things, defined by theology to the point of extreme rigidity. From what I've studied, even Yahweh once had many different aspects and understandings associated with the different tribes and locations in the land of Yisrael.

Is Roxy's path for me? Probably not. My dedication is to Truth, and while I see no problem with befriending those entities worthy of friendship, being monotheistic I reserve worship for the Absolute. Roxy has known Djehuti for many lives, and they have a deep bond that surpasses convention. The way I see it, might you not do something extreme if your best friend requested it of you? I think the pagan gods have been pretty well humbled. Perhaps some concessions for dear old friends are not so awful as we might think.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com