Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Scribing the Spirits August 15, 2005 @ 1:27 p.m.

From the outside, I guess it looks like I haven't been up to much lately. I haven't gotten out of the house very often, and I spend a lot of time sitting on the couch reading or working at the computer. I think, though, that in truth I have been very busy - just with more internal things.

I have begun compiling my own books of spirits with some good looking and sturdy yet cheap sketchbooks I found on sale at Borders. At first I was extremely ambitious with the project. I wanted to put all the information I could find on the spirits into writing. It took a week or two of working on this project before I realized that to do so would require not a couple of books, but a library. At this stage, I'm trying to figure out how to be more practical while still copying the necessary and important information. I don't mind copying stuff that I could just obtain or purchase in already existing forms, because the simple act of writing and speaking helps me learn about and retain the information on the spirits.

There are so many of them - just looking at the angels of the Judeo/Christian tradition that were important or useful enough to be written down yield hundreds of different entitities. The same applies to elementals, daemons and other spirits of the Western tradtion. Factor in all the deities and other spirits of the world and I wouldn't be surprised if world literature contains references to tens of thousands of different entities.

For now, I think I will be happy to give them all space for a sigil and a paragraph to describe their essential features. Their background will have to go in seperate files, and any practical experience I have with them will be going into a journal. I just don't have the space to do otherwise at this point.

A cute synchronicity - I went to turn on some music and decided on "Dancing Queen" by Abba. I turn to look back at the next spirit on my list, and its name was Aba - A Venereal angel. Coincidence?

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com