Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

God hold me accountable... September 17, 2005 @ 12:43 p.m.

I am a lazy bitch. This has been established in several past entries. But now, I think I've begun to do something rather reasonable and productive about it that has a good chance of working. I've begun making vows to God to get things done.

Lots of people make New Year's resolutions. I've never really gone along with that because I know that most of those resolutions are nothing more than wishful thinking with no dedication to real action - something I don't have to wait for New Year's to do and in which I engage all year long.

I'm childish. I admit it. The only things that are stopping me from doing the things I know I need to be doing are fear, laziness, a lack of energy and motivation, and indecision. I can't let these stop me anymore. Almost every significant new venture is scary. All of them have the potential for failure. All have the potential to be a mistake. All of them will be a pain in the ass at some point in time.

So I've made it very simple for myself: I don't have a choice anymore. Now, if I do not do the things I vow to do, the Righteous Fury of the Lord will come along and bitchslap me upside the head to get me back in line. And for the simple mathematics which show that this is more of a pain to deal with than my lack of energy, fear and sloth, I am so far doing quite well.

I've only made 3 vows thus far, and I'm starting small. All 3 have been to merely write in journals on a regular basis for various activities I need to be doing: meditation, magick, dreams. I'm sure I'll be adding diaryland and keeping in touch with all of you to the list very soon. Gradually, I intend to work myself up to bigger and bigger commitments. I'm taking it slow though because I need the courage and inspiration that comes from seeing that yes, I CAN actually do the stuff I set my mind to. I've been writing in my dream diary shortly after I wake up every day for a week or two now. And small as that is, it really boosts my confidence.

Soon, I'll be ready to begin the real hardcore work I've been procrastinating on for ages: getting into good shape, physically and spiritually.

Update - Let me just get this over with before the moon starts waning again:

I, Joseph David Kenneth Stolowitz, do hereby vow by YHWH Yireh, to type into my diaryland diary every day, unless emergency, extraneous circumstances or lack of internet access shall prevent me, until my gold membership shall expire. May God hold me accountable and help me to fulfill this vow.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com