Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Hebrew Scrabble September 21, 2005 @ 10:50 p.m.

The Internet on the downstairs computer is infected with something. It takes like an hour to open up hotmail, when the window even decides to come up after clicking it. Annoying since I just ran adaware yesterday and thought I had gotten rid of all the shit. I do need to get on here for more than just entertainment, though I throughly enjoy that too.

Another day over in Sonoma County, another pricey couple gallons of gasoline. The meeting with Rabbi Elisheva went well though. Despite her having to get up a couple times to try to convince her 1-year old to go to sleep, and that failing to try other approaches (something I have no problem with), I got the full scoop on things. I'm actually impressed with the way she structured the B'nai Mitzvah program - the kids get to do a "Tikkun" service project as well as a chance to really share their thoughts and feelings about their portion and other stuff. They actually learn to chant it, a nice tradition that is sadly slipping away in many synagogues. They aren't doing a haftorah portion, but instead their torah portion is a lot longer. Also, Elisheva filled me on where each of my kids are at and their special strengths and weaknesses. I really have some very intelligent young adults in my class - I feel very fortunate about it.

This evening, I got together with Dr. Thompson and some of the Hebrew 2 students and played Hebrew Scrabble. I actually did pretty well. Dr. Thompson whooped us by getting a 7 or 8 letter word by using his knowledge of advanced forms and inseperable prepositions, but then I scored of that by just adding a vav in front, another inseperable preposition that simply means "and". The class this semester is going to alternate between Tuesday and Wednesday nights from week to week so everyone can make it at least every other week. Until I get a place and more work, I have no idea how often I'll be able to make it. We're going to be reading Esther this semester, and I convinced Dr. Thompson to let us do a line or two of the vast poetry genre in the bible every lesson along with the main prose we're focusing on. Prose hebrew is a lot easier to read and understand than poetry, but the poetry in the bible is a lot of the best stuff, like the Song of Songs and Lamentations and Psalms ans such.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com