Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

*Home July 24, 2006 @ 1:48 pm

This is one of the best love songs I've ever heard - maybe my all-time favorite. I guess perhaps because it reflects my hopes and feelings about the subject the best. To me, love is everything all the songs have said, but its also more. And I think this song talks about one of the most overlooked aspects of true love, as I understand it. Yes, love is sex, and friendship, and commitment, and partnership, and perhaps parenthood. But to me, the most important aspect of love is that it is Peace.

Perhaps we expect too much from love, and I try to ground my ideas of it so as not to be dissapointed. But I can't help but long for that Peace in another person most of all. More than the most intense desires, the best friendship, the perfect compatibility, or the most solid dedication. I want to feel freedom and tranquility through another person. And I want them to feel that through me. I want to KNOW someone, but more than that, I want to RECOGNIZE them as who I've always known them to be - my home.

And perhaps the reason this song almost always makes me teary is the refrain "How can it be?" Because I've learned by know that it really is incomprehensible. And if I ever do find that kind of love, it will likely be that unbelievable to me that my world will never be the same. I will never understand how, given who I am, who all of us are, and everything we've been and been through, the miracle of two people bringing such joy and peace to each other can be.

And so in my heart, I sing this song to my beloved - whether we've met or have yet to meet.

Duncan Sheik - Home

Don't get me wrong, I'm feeling O.K.
But when I'm without you, it's just not the same
Don't misunderstand me, I' feeling alright
But when I'm without you the day turns into night...into night

You dream of a future...a possible place
Where we lie together face to face
And I'm looking forward
I will not deny
I dream of a future made for you and I
You and I

...and then I'm with you
No longer alone
when I'm with you
It feels like I'm home
And you are with me
No longer alone
How could it be?
It feels like I'm home
It feels like I'm home

I look through the darkness into the sky
The moon up above me brilliantly shines
I've never been happier watching it glow
I'm here by meself, but I know I'm not alone...I'm not alone

I look through the brightness into the sky
The sun up above me, splitting out fire
Call me a child, call me naive
The world is much brighter
Than it ever used to be

...and then I'm with you
No longer alone
when I'm with you
It feels like I'm home
And you are with me
No longer alone
How could it be?
It feels like I'm home
It feels like I'm home

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com