Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Next time, I want students November 20, 2005 @ 2:49 p.m.

Its been a terrible day for the most part. It got started so nicely - I stayed up late reading God Knows by Joseph Heller - an excellent book which Roxy loaned me. And it cleared up some things enough for me so that while I was driving this morning and enjoying John Mayer's Heavier Things, the tightness in my shoulders went away for a bit.

Sunday school turned out to be a pain in the ass though. Leslie was gone, which I knew, but so was Karen, Jesse my main aid (madrich), and Joelle my 8th grade aid. We were locked out for awhile until someone finally arrived with keys and got started late. The seventh graders and I (essentially, me) had to run tefillah and sing all the songs without a guitar. As usual, almost no one sang along and I felt rather ridiculous. And the lessons just went to shit. Nica argues with me every chance she gets and tries to make me look like an idiot in front of the rest of the class. Rebekah is too silly and obnoxious, wants to answer every question but when called on doesn't know the answer, and jockeys with Ryan for who can interrupt each other the most. And the Rabbi gave me a reading which including the gouging out of King Zedekiah's eyes - sure to be another favorite for the parents. That, and in order to explain why King David was not especially fit to build the temple, I went into racy territory again. I felt so frustrated and foolish and mocked and alone. I left a big message on Leslie's cell to report, but since Rebekah asked in class today "Why do we always talk about gross stuff" and Nica guessed that when David danced before the Lord he was probably naked, I'm scared that I brought up taboo stuff for the last time and can expect to soon be fired, thus cementing my failure as both a teacher and a Jew. Oh well, at least I'll have some free time on the weekends again.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com