Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Colleen November 26, 2005 @ 8:33 p.m.

I had several babysitters that my mom employed to take care of me and later my brother when we lived in Long Beach. Nana babysat me when I was very little and she and Papa still lived near the Altamont. After her, the first major babysitter I remember was a lady named Coleen, who actually ran a whole babysitting service out of her home with several kids. It was strange for me, because I was really young but also wasn't the youngest. I don't remember if there were other kids my age or not - I don't think I played with the other kids much. I do remember that they played movies for us to watch often. They seemed to play E.T. all the time - it had just come out on video that year and was really popular. I remember it was a very distinct video cassette because it was partly green. I found much of the movie incomprehensible but I loved the flying bike scenes and the spaceships. It really is a great movie though - I watch it every other year or so near Halloween and it usually makes me tear up.

I didn't much care for being at Colleen's. The place seemed very foreign, and she was very different than my mom. Actually, I disliked being around women other than family for more years than I should have. My mom's just such a nice lady - when she's in a good mood. She had a great sense of humor and always loved to hug me and be with me and let me know all the time how much she cared about me. Sad that now, she can't share that with Stacy.

On top of all the other kids Colleen took care of, she had a daughter of her own who was one of the older kids in the house. I probably only remember this because Colleen took all of us kids on a field trip one day to a place with animals. Might have been a zoo, farm, petting zoo, Knott's Berry farm - don't remember. But what I do remember was that her daughter stuck her hand through the bars to pet the horses, and ended up having her finger bitten off. Evidentally, it resembled a carrot. Lucky for her though, they were able to reattach it intactly. But Jesus, talk about a horror story for a mom and a kid!

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com