Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Taking My Stand December 01, 2005 @ 12:45 pm

There's a big, beautiful rainstorm blasting us here in Marin as I write. Traffic was jammed this morning both because of the rain and a few selectively obnixious problems with traffic lights. My boss declined to come into work today, the Internet is down, and I've gotten done all the work I can without Internet access. Well, except for that one thing I just remembered.

People around here are nice and are still asking me how I am settling in and whether or not I enjoy the job. I don't really know what they expect me to say. There's nothing here worth complaining about, but other than the pay and the knowledge that you're indirectly helping out the kids, nothing makes me really want to stand up and shout. I've already started thinking about the future and looking at what other things I might be doing in a year or so.

In my opinion as an astrologer, the four most critical things to look at in a person's chart are their sun sign, their moon sign, their midheaven and their ascendent. Sun signs are easily the most well known, and give a good overview to the workings of a person. The ascendent is also very important, as its the persona that people present to the outside world - the first impressions that can take awhile for people to dig through. The moon sign rules the emotional life, and the midheaven, or 10th house cusp, is the primary factor in determining career.

The reason I bring this up is that the other day, I was looking around the Internet for information on my Midheaven sign, Saggitarius. I love looking up esoterica on the net, because you get presented with several different views and can get an insight from one source you wouldn't necessarily get with another. I know the basics about my MC (Medium Coeli, another term for Midheaven): my career should involve travel, ideas, and politics. But it was interesting to hear some other aspects (another astrological term) I wasn't aware of. Like the fact that many people with the placement, like myself, feel like they have to make up for lost time and oppertunities - both for themselves and others who are not in as good a position. Or that for a really fulfilling career, we need to be able to communicate ideas to lots of people - we have to feel like we're spreading some kind of gospel, so to speak. Makes a lot of sense to me.

I've been thinking about my next career move, and trying to figure out how best I can help the world and the country get out of the mess its in. I remembered a quote I had posted on The Other Side once upon a time - it went something like "the place where your great passion meets the world's great need is where you belong". I also remembered a concept I read about in a book on space colonization when I was in junior high - a scientific concept called a critical mass. In order for a social change to truly take place and be guaranteed to last, a certain number of people have to be working for it, or at least amiable to it. That number is not necessarily a majority - it varies depending on the goal and the situation. But once that number of people, both actively and passively supporting the idea, is reached, then they are guaranteed to win out on some level (depending on which mass it is). After that, things have only to play themselves out to align the rest of the system with the idea. Its kind of Taoist, in that the future gets created by people in their minds before it actually manifests.

So the task for us, it would seem, would be to reach a critical mass of people, both in this country and the world at large, who have an awareness of the big picture and a willingess to do what it takes to make a better world a reality.

Sometimes, it seems it might be too late for our country or our world. I have to acknowledge this as a possibility. Perhaps a critical mass of negativity - all this ignorance, fear, hatred, etc - has already been reached to a point where all that can be done is to minimize the damage and take as much out of the situation as we can. I sure hope not.

I don't think its set in stone either way. I've heard a lot of people on many sides of this issue, both with intelligence, intuition and inspiration, weigh in one way or another. Some say its too late; others say we've got a golden age on the horizon. I'm in the minority, but I think thing are still at a flexible enough point where our fate could go either way. We can choose now what to do, and that will determine the future.

Can I personally save the country or the world? Not likely, but I'm sure that my contribution to all of this will play a role. Decisive on its own? Perhaps not. But the way changes like these seem to happen are as mass collections of little actions and behaviors that all add up to shape destiny. Like pillars holding up a heavy roof, the weight is distributed throughout all of them. If one weakens, or cracks, it won't be an issue as long as it continues to hold up its own weight for most of the time, and the other hold up their weight too.

"I'm just one person - what can I do?" You hear that all the time. I'll tell you what you can do - hold up your own part of the responsibility - stay alert, stay informed, stay strong, stay flexible, and stay inspired. That's your part of the bargain to the world - to make your stand within your own life and your own circle. If everybody did that, the vast part of the work would be done. And if you can hang around and stay dedicated long enough to what is right, experience will teach you about the long run and the little miracles and give you the peace and perspective and faith you need in order not to lose heart.

Leaders need the perspective to see the flow of events and where things have been and are headed. They also need personal dedication to going above and beyond, knowing that their light can trump the darkness of others. And they need to realize that they do not create the positions where they are needed - nature does. Leading is like surfing - you ride the waves and are carried to the top in doing so. Being a leader is both a grace given by circumstances and the powers that be, as well as the skills and dedication necessary to step up to the plate when needed. Not everyone is given power and responsibility beyond their individual roles, and those that are offered it do not always fulfill such roles well. To accept curse in order to have a greater oppertunity to bless is the provence of those anointed as leaders - be they kings, priests or prophets.

So, how will I go about affecting that mass, both as an individual participant and if given the position of a leader? There are many skills I have, many things I enjoy, a lot of knowledge I have. Teaching, healing, rescuing, writing...Where is the most effective place for me to make a stand? Where it the most effective place for you?

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com