Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

No flooding - please? January 02, 2006 @ 12:09 p.m.

"Hey David - how was your new year's?"
"My place almost got flooded and my car broke down. How was yours?"

For all the strangeness going on the past few days, its really fun to be able to tell people that. And since I'm sure you're just dying to know the details, I'll be a good little gossip and tell you.

As most of you know, if you've been keeping up with the news, there's sporadic flooding going on right now all over the West Coast. The rains this year were off schedule to begin with, and now they are coming down almost continuously. I started hearing about flood warnings in Guerneville last week while on vacation, but it didn't occur to me that if lowlands like Guerneville were flooding, lowlands elsewhere were likely to flood too. I guess from the way my mom was describing it the flooding sounded like some freak activity of the Russian River.

After getting back from Loralea's on Friday, I slept in Saturday morning. Getting up right around the time the tide was peaking (a fact I only became aware of later), I looked out the kitchen window and was more than interested to find that the water had risen right up to about half a foot from the top of the stilt supports my place is built on. The docks were completely submerged, the boats bobbing on top of the water, tied to posts sticking up from the depths. It occured to me that flooding could definitely be a possibility for my apartment.

I went in to the oratory for morning rituals and used the Watchtower ritual to draw in some help from God and the angels. I flubbed up part of the ritual by mixing up the fire and air directions, but I think I was able to do a decent enough part with the rest of it to get some results - it certainly felt powerful enough when I chanted MPH ARSL GAIOL towards the water.

I think the Lord has been a little ticked at me lately - he's been reminding me in His famous mysterious ways for the past few days that I better not take The Name in Vain and that before I even think of getting going with the Abramelin Operation and further vows, I have old vows lying unfulfilled. So, with apology for my laxity and sinfulness, and a gentle reminder about a certain covenant He made with Noach never again to destroy the world by flooding for the sake of men, I implored YHWH to call it quits with the rain and flooding. With His help and the help of the angels, I commanded the waters to recede to normal levels and the rains to stop.

God kept me guessing for the next hour after that about whether or not He had decided to answer my prayer affirmatively, whether He was pissed at me or not, or whether a simple mix of weird luck and natural forces was going to culminate with no input from Him either way.

I went outside and got in my car to go to the library, so that I could finally get on the net and get those forms for tutoring so that my contact at Professional Tutors of America wouldn't think I'm a complete flake. Water had pooled in several parts of the street, but what really brought an "oh shit" to mind was seeing the door to Pier 15 wide open with a river of water rushing out the front.

Now, more silliness began to accumulate. Driving through San Rafael towards the library, noting how the water had also risen quite high in other places, suddenly the check engine light came on. I wondered if I had somehow gotten water into the engine, though I don't think it got that high. I got to the library, went in, and Murphy's Law: all the computers were taken. I waited about ten minutes, having called my dad at this point and alerted him to the situation, and wondering why the hell I was over here worrying about losing a job I'd never really had when I should be back at my place getting everything up at least a foot. When I finally did get Internet access (a measely 10 minutes or so), I quickly got on there - got distracted for a bit by updates from MySpace - then printed out the main page of contact info from Matt.

Leaving the library, my John the Conqueror root that I got from Lucky Mojo's fell out of my pocket onto the ground. I am pretty sure that in Hoodoo, a root alleged to bring you power falling out onto the ground is a BAD, BAD sign. Turned out I was right. As I started driving back towards my pad, I noticed I couldn't accelerate past 25. And then, the CRV just decided it didn't want to move at all.

Here's where this gets interesting, because thinking at this point that I had either really incurred some saved up divine wrath, was destined for shitty luck today, or some combination thereof, I was able to pull the car off the road into a convenient empty parking lot for apartment tenants. It happened to be next door to an auto mechanic shop, although it was closed for new years. I called up Dad and we got up to speed with each other on our respective situations. Oh yeah, his situation: apparently, Grandma was headed to the hospital with a bladder infection. My timing for needing a ride was impeccably bad for my dad, but impeccably perfect for me because a couple of young guys pulled into the parking lot right then, and with some conversation, I found out they were mechanics. They checked the engine, said there was something wrong with the transmission, and one of them - Tom - gave me a ride back to my place, discussing the flooding he had recently been dealing with up in Guerneville.

So at this point, my destiny meter was completely whacked out. Everything goes divinely wrong, and then suddenly everything miraculously turned around. The rain trickled down to a drizzle, and the clouds began to part. I got back to my place, was relieved to find it wasn't underwater, and got everything moved up about a foot so that even if water did get in, it wouldn't damage too much stuff.

"I really am thankful for your help" I told the Lord.
"You'd better be" was the response that came to mind.

I called up Jonathan and Dad on the cell phone to see where they were at, as I looked out the windows at the now blue sky, bright sun, and exposed docks.

"We're on the bridge now, looking at a huge, gorgeous rainbow."

The God of Gods - the God of my people and my youth - is, if nothing else, not without a sense of humor.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com