Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Yeah - aint it cool?! July 04, 2006 @ 11:06 a.m.

If I am insane, its only because life on Earth is insane itself. So many unanticipated things happen in my life these days that I gave up on being surprised a long time ago, though I have yet to give up on my dreams. You know, there is nothing wrong with encouraging kids to dream when they are younger. I still believe, after all this bullshit, that the dream jobs we've always wanted really do exist and are out there waiting for us to fill them or create them. I also believe in true love, but that's a subject for another time. Anyway, don't shoot the kids down, but I think it would be nice if you could advise them that there dreams will take work, intelligence, bravery, and a lot of social connections to get to a reality stage. Maybe then, the kids wouldn't get so bummed out when they find out just how hard it really is to get the kind of career you really want.

If I've calculated and anticipated things correctly, I have enough money to cover rent for the next two months as well as to put a down payment, or hopefully a purchase, on a cheap vehicle. I've decided I'm going to with a motorcycle. It's going to be a pain to learn and get the license and insurance and such, but overall it will be much cheaper and much more enjoyable. There are only two small problems. The first is that my parents lost their best man in a motorcycle accident and my mom is likely to freak if she finds out. The second challenge is - can I find safe clothing and gear that doesn't require the slaughter of animals? I know, I know - a gay vegetarian biker. Go figure.

Yesterday found me hitchiking with my REI backpack heavily loaded with books trying to get up to Oregon to hang out with Ben and co for the next week. Daniel from Peru gave me a ride from San Rafael to Marinwood, followed by the stoner hippies on their way to Windsor for a swim, who got stuck in traffic in Santa Rosa, where I was picked up by the Banger sisters who braved throught the traffic to Windsor, where nice lady no good english took me to Healdsburg. I was doing great and having lots of luck until I got to Healdsburg. Fucking Healdsburg - where large signs and obnoxious cops prevented and outlawed me from walking along the side of the highway to a decent hitchiking site for the next dozen miles or so.

After having no luck trying to get a ride from the low-volume onramp (I was right next to the prohibited sign, but I figured they might like me for the gall and humor), I marched like Wassaw the 47th through the brambles rye to the next exit, only to find it was similarly castrated to all but operating cars. Grrr!!! At this point, I sat down by a motel, looked at my map, and spent the next half hour or so investigating my options and planning things out. Turns out the most practical thing to do (though I did smile in the realization that, had I really wanted to, I could have actually spent a week hiking to Southern Oregon), was to go Greyhound. Or so I thought.

The nearest Greyhound station was back in Santa Rosa. So I swallowed my pride and backtracked, getting there about 8 after they had closed. This necessitated me calling friends for lodging and now today dealing with bullshit from Greyhound in order to spend $80 for a one way, one DAY, trip up there with 3 transfers.

My friend Serene, upon hearing that I had attempted to hitchike to Oregon, told me I was absolutely crazy.

Yeah - ain't it cool?!

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com