Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Our Own Little World September 18, 2006 @ 10:56 a.m.

What is it about Paul Simon that evokes images of chickens dancing in my mind? It could be the use of trumpets. Or possibly its just the way my twisted mind works, augmented by the precedent established with my brother in my dad�s car when we were younger. Dad was a big Paul Simon fan. I don�t know if he�s still as enthusiastic as he was, but I remember he used to play Graceland almost every time we were in his car with him. I used to have an uncanny ability to make my brother laugh at will. In this case, I would use a combination of facial expressions and arm movements timed with particularly silly chords in the music. Man I used to be able to crack Jon up. Jonathan used to have a particular way of laughing when he was younger that sounded like the �art art� of a seal. This one time in the bathroom in Long Beach, I manipulated him into laughing at his own laugher. This triggered a continuous cycle of increasing laughter for a good twenty minutes at least. Eventually, Jon was begging me to stop while busting up on the ground � he was having trouble breathing from all of it.

My dad has been in the habit for as long as I can remember of leasing cars instead of buying them � luxury cars with lots of buttons to press in particular. In this respect and in so many others, he is the quintessential Aquarius. Then again, most of my family are Aquarians � me, dad, mom, and both of dad�s parents are the ones I can immediately recall. Ben suddenly understood my family a lot better when I explained this rare situation to him: �You really DID grow up in your own little worlds!� he laughingly realized. Jonathan was the exception, and I still jokingly refer to him from time to time as �the Cancer� in a family otherwise full of mad scientists. Our laboratories vary tremendously though. Dad manipulates and synthesizes the chemicals of life, whereas my mom tends to turn her efforts more to the perfection of the home and family, running the gamut from spontaneous fixer-upper projects on the house to trying to keep tabs and peace on the extended family. I tend to work to titrate unique meaning and spiritual insight, while my dad�s parents really made torturing each other into an exact science. My grandfather now being gone for more than decade may partly explain why my grandmother seems to be so lost these days in mind and body; hopefully it hasn�t been wearing down her spirit on top of it all.

Growing up, my dad was always at the front of the line to get the latest technologies whenever they came out. Given how hard he worked, how successful he�s always been in his career as a biochemist, and the enthusiasm and fun of technology that he always shared with us, it was hard to stay mad at him for being somewhat hypocritical and spendthrift when it came to new toys versus budgeting.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com