Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

'Reverend' Wade February 16, 2004 @

Rev. Wade: Hey!!!
Dave: Hi there
How's it going?
Rev. Wade: Fine! But...while that's a beautiful font, I'm having trouble reading it.
By the way, how do you know about Wicca (and that our holidays are called "Sabbats)?
Dave: I�m a jack of all religions
Rev. Wade: Oh, and see the picture of my beloved Goddess, The Morrighan [Ir., "Great Queen"] in the dialogue box?
Awe, now, ya' gotta' tell me more than that!
Dave: one sec
Rev. Wade: Sure thing, bro.
Dave: thanks - my bro was asking me about something
I spent the weekend with my family
Dave: Gonna head back to school tonight
Rev. Wade: Eeeuuuwww...
Dave: I can't see your picture - are you sure its turned on?
Rev. Wade: Well, I'm thinking of going back to school to study anthropology, and take a deeper look at the Goddesses.
Yeah! Click on the arrows at the edge of the box and it should appear.
Dave: eh, don't see any arrows. Maybe this is an old version on this comp...
Rev. Wade: Awe, man! Well, you should get the new version...
Dave: I think my IM at school is up to date
Rev. Wade: Hold on, I'm in a Spring mood and want to change the dialogue box's background.
Rev. Wade: Ah....MUCh betetr!
I'm looking at some lavender, now...
Dave: You asked about the Wheel of the Year pic? I made that in Paint
Rev. Wade: You did?
Dave: yep
Rev. Wade: Did you get the descriptions from anyone, such as the "ascension of light"?
Dave: No, just made sense
Rev. Wade: Oh, well, it damned near poetic, to my senses...
So, I saved it for that reason...
Dave: thank you
Rev. Wade: And, how did you know that they applied to the Celtic division of Winter and Summer? Most who don't know any better would have placed those on the Sumer and Winter Solstices, I'm sure.
If I had some canvis board, I'd like to start painting again, too.
I even might start out illustrating a Wheel of the Year.
Dave: Hehe, I meant the comp. program "paint"
Rev. Wade: But...you ain't answered my question yet.
Oh!
Yeah, now that you mention it, I can see that!
Dave: I do paint, but I'm not that good at it
Rev. Wade: Me too... Mine are more abstract.
But, would like to use it to express my spirituality in The Goddess (and why Sylvia doesn't call Her a Goddess I will never know).
Dave: Sometimes she is called Goddess in the Novus literature
Rev. Wade: Really? Which literature? I haven't seen it, yet (except on one version of her site, which diodn'y last long, when they were revamping it).
Dave: Its in the Journey of the Soul books
The full versions
(which only Novus publishes)
Rev. Wade: What do you mean? The one published by Hay House?
Ah...
Dave: No, the Hay House ones are abridged
Rev. Wade: Well, that's crap!
Dave: I agree
Rev. Wade: *grummbles* Damned legal holidays! I'd have the books I'd ordered, were it not Presidents' Day"...
I orderes "When God Was A Woman" and "Double Goddesses".
The latter is a study oif the double/twin neolithic goddesses, and looks really interesting!
Dave: I've heard "When God was a Woman" is quite good
Rev. Wade: I also bought a book to use for sewing my own ritual robes.
Yes, but no longer quite scholarly (because it is so feminist and dated, admittedly).
So, when reading many of these books, even those by MNarija Gimbutas, one has to seperate the chaff from the wheat.
Dave: As with any book I suppose
Rev. Wade: Yes. Well, most published around the 70s (and even those published by feminists since then).
Although, scholars have one major failing!
Dave: A lack of personal experience?
Rev. Wade: Oh, no...
Rather than truly thinking for themselves, and putting forth a theory based on good research, which goes against their peers, they simply choose to agree with each other!
For example, in order to be taken seriously, they seem to believe that, whereas many of the early scholars saw religion in every neolithic find, they have turned a pollar opposite and view everything as completely secular and non-religious in any way!
So, it's a complete turn-about, regardless of the find.
Dave : Its rare to find scholars that are willing to be truly revolutionary
most just go with what's popular
Rev. Wade : I have recently heard that the most popular scholarly idea about the neolithic (new stine aged) Goddess images were just objects of trade, rather than spiritual objects.
Whcih I don't understand.
Dave : yeah, doesn't make sense
Rev. Wade : Scholarship, however, follows the latest trends and fashions.
Dave : I mean, you could trade them, but why go to all that effor?
Rev. Wade : I KNOW!!!!
That exactyly what *I* said!!!
It's like scholars value their reoutations far too highly among their peers, or something...
Dave : Reputation is valued, but also they are scared to speak out
Rev. Wade : Something else I've seen, is, rather than looking for corroborating evidence, or even seperating the good previous scholarship from the more suspect, they will throw out the baby with the bath water, completely rejecting any good scholarship previously written of... Which, of course, I am opposed to, because it makes no sense (that's not really being a true scholar, imho).
Exactlyt!
That's my point.
Dave : Part of it has to do with the linear nature of our civilization
It is assumed that the past is inferior to the present and the future will make for better things
Also, controversy invites attack and risks one's career
My dad told me also that the perfect can be the enemy of the good.
Rev. Wade : Yeah, it does risk one's carreer and standig. But, at what cost??? Ours, for sure!'
Dave : true
Takes guts to stand up for Truth
Rev. Wade : I think that historian Max Dashu put it best, when she said of scholars' alledgedly "oibjectivityt," "Old-school academics as well as post-structuralist upstarts like to scold refractory feminists about evidence and certainties. Their pretense to disinterested objectivity reminds me of what Gandhi said when asked what he thought about Western Civilization: 'I think it would be a very good idea.'
Covert agendas pass easily under the banner of objectivity. Many still believe the fiction that mainstream academia is somehow value-free, yet feminist perspectives are necessarily ideological and agenda-driven."
Yes, it does takes guts, which does tells us that one should take scholars as the last word, or as irrefutible, etc. (as so many Pagans rather blindly do).
Dave : Yeah, which reminds me - I've been meaning to read your posts on the History of Wicca/Neopaganism. I'm real interested to learn about it - just been very busy
Rev. Wade : Wow! That's such an old post, too (which I'm not finished with).
I plan on doing so when I've finished my article about The Morrighan.
Dave : So... I can't access your profile because I'm using a family computer. Why don't you tell me a little more about yourself? A/S/L?
etc
Rev. Wade : Well, if I had a pic. I woulda' post it by now.
But, here it goes:
I'll be 27 this March 14, I'm male (obviously), and live in Iowa.
I'm 6'02" tall, 6.5" and THICK (where it counts), average build, 180 lbs., with red hair, a goatee, blue eyes and glasses...
Dave : Interesting
but as far as the penis stuff, that's too much info
Rev. Wade : "Interesting"? Iteresting how>?
Dave : I don't know... for some reason, I thought you were middle-aged
Rev. Wade : Awe...don't be prudish, Hon'.
Middle aged? Why?
Dave : I thought I saw you say you were in your 40's, but I think that must have been a different member.
Rev. Wade : Yeah, probably a diff. member.
Dave : So you're a Pisces if my calculations are correct?
Rev. Wade : Yup!
A hard-core Pisces.
With a Capricorn Moon (yikes!).
Dave : yikes is right
Rev. Wade : How so? Now, it's one thing for me to say that, but why do you?
Dave : It sounds like a hard combo. Like your very nature is to be emotional, yet you feel pressure to constantly control it
ah, but that's too general and vague
Rev. Wade : No shit! Well, after my first shattering heart break. Although, where one REALLY sees it is when I'm in new situations (I get rather scared and panicky around 'em).
By "no shit" I was agreeing with your first statement.
Dave : gotcha
I'm an Aquarius with an Aries moon myself
So... there was something you wanted to ask me earlier... I forgot what it was
Rev. Wade : Mmmm.... I'm not sure. When? E-mail of chat?
Dave : in this IM
Rev. Wade : Oh, okay... How did you learn so much about Wicca?
Dave : I studied it for a brief time, and I've run across references to it frequently
Rev. Wade : Ah... Why did you stop studying it, why did you start, and how did you study it (from what literature)?
Dave : Well... I study religious history and Western mysticism, so I continue to learn more about ancient beliefs
As far as modern Wicca/neopaganism, I have only a little familiarity
I studied it for a semester or so in junior high
Rev. Wade: How so? And, yes, Wicca is a modern religious, rather than ancient.
You studied it, actually during Jr. High School???
Dave: I went to an alternative school
We had some kind of wide-open topic project if I remember
Rev. Wade: Lucky!
Dave: Destiny I like to think
I wanted to find out if magic really existed at all, or if it was all make believe
When I began to research it - boom, there was Wicca
Rev. Wade: Oh, I believe it doies, and validate it via physics!
Dave: So I basically just gave a presentation to my class on correspondences and magic theory
Rev. Wade: Ah...
Dave: I thought it was pretty cool, but I got interested in other stuff and until recently, I've kind of avoided it because its polytheistic
Rev. Wade: Well, it's only polytheistic to some. In fact, most Wiccan believe "All Gods are one God and all Goddesses are one Goddess".
Dave: I thought that was just something Marion Zimmer Bradley came up with
Rev. Wade:
So, it really is duotheistic.
No 9although, she is a favourite writer of mine).
It actually comes from the writings of occultist, Dion Fortune, who may have been inspired by the writings of Isis, or the ancient book "The Golden Ass".
Dave: I read the Golden Ass. Some parts were better than others
Although I think Apuleius was homophobic
Rev. Wade: Well, he was Roman (if I remember correctly), so...not entirely, but, they did have social standards.
And, when did *you* read it, when I haven't, yet? I'm just going off of the history books, from those whom have.
Dave: I read it this last summer, while I was on a backpacking trek
Got lots on snickers from the guys about it
Rev. Wade: Oh, from the title?
And, what possessed you to read it (I�m assuming it was Robert Graves' translation).
I, myself, haven�t had the time, nor frame of mind, to even think of wading through it (let alone the money to get a copy).
Dave: I don't remember who the translator was - I think it was in the Penguin classics version or something
It just sounded intriguing. I love stories about magic and such
That's probably why I'm knee deep in Carlos Castaneda right now
Rev. Wade : Ah...
Well, I'm still researching the Neolithic Goddesses, and seperating the chaff from the wheat.
Dave : How did you get into Neopaganism?
Rev. Wade : Neopaganism? Or, the Goddess? Thy are different stories...
Dave : let's say the Goddess then
Rev. Wade: Well, when I was in Jr. High school, we were Mormon for a while. And, they believe that "God has a wife," which is what they told me from asking. And,have praiud to Her ever since (I was about 12 at the time). Even though they told me not to (I couldn't see the point in not doing so).
I was also VERY envitonmentally aware, too, at this time!
Dave: cool
Rev. Wade: thanks...
Dave: So your family was LDS?
Rev. Wade: yes... we were only members for less than a year.
Dave: What made your family decide to discontinue?
Rev. Wade: My mom didn't like it, anymore (because they wanted her to teach, and she just wanted to learn, basically using them). But, she's never been really religious anyway.
Dave: I see
Rev. Wade: However, while my mom has come to accept my believe in the Goddess (she didn't use to), my brother still mocks the religion of Wicca.
Dave: How many siblings do you have?
Rev. Wade: 1
5 yrs younger
Dave: about my age
Rev. Wade: yeah
Dave: Does your family know you are gay?
Rev. Wade : yeah, well...yes and no.
Rev. Wade : it's accewpted, just not openly discussed.
Dave : I know how that is
Dave : I gotta head back to school soon.
Rev. Wade : why?
Dave : Its a little less than a 2 hour drive, and I have classes tomorrow at 8 am
Rev. Wade : You dating anyone?
Dave : just casually thus far
Rev. Wade : "casual"?
Dave : ipso epto, not going steady
almost did though But, that's another story
Rev. Wade : Well, please promise me one thing (if you don't, I'll be knocking on your door to yell at you)...
Don';t Plkay anyone (for I was seriously Played, and my heart barely survived, emotionally, speaking).
Dave: I strive not to
Rev. Wade: Strive not to? How so?
The man I was with new what he was doing (using me for his own needs, and strinkging me along to do it, too).
Dave: Need to get something off your chest?
Rev. Wade: I hope, and pray, that he lives a live of missery, is stuck living with his mother (whom he can't stand, and for good reason: because she's mean), and is cut off from being able to sleep with men for at least 10 years!
His friends even know that he's a slut, but no one ever bothered to tell me...
Dave: I thought you people were supposed believe in a rule of 3 or something...
Rev. Wade: Nah...Gardner invented that. It doesn't mean we can't hope that one will suffer. it jusat means that we can't actually go out and physically try and cause one missery.
So, one must really look at it very pragmatically.
Dave: hehe, ok
sounds more like you should pity him
Rev. Wade: No, no one shoudl pitty him, he should be reviled!
What's worse is how damned hot he was, too!
And, he told ME he was gay, but I foiund out klater that he had a 3-way with my best friend's lesbianb niece and her niece's girl friend!!!
I newarly through up!
I became physically ill...
Basically, forgive my language, but...he mind fucked me!
Dave: That sucks
Rev. Wade: Be thankful you weren't on the recieving end (it's hell on the self-esteem, too).
Dave: I'm gonna get going Wade. Will you be online later?
Rev. Wade: Yeah... Well, tonight? Perhaps (for a little while).
Dave: Well if I don' t see you, I'll be in touch
Rev. Wade: Absolutely!

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com