Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Nawlins June 06, 2007 @ 11:58 a.m.

In New Orleans, Daquiris are as readily available as fast food. You stroll down the street, in hot and humid heat, and there's anohter daquiri shop. I think its a marvelous practice. The sensation of being buzzed in heat and exertion is an interesting one to say the least.

During the day was a well-earned sweat. During the nights a pleasant warmth. I'm beginning to notice a pattern in my life, of how warm nights always seem to be correlated with the best memories. Even when I think of Washington I find this to be true.

I miss Roxy. I miss the strange daemonic coffee shops where you can be ridden by loa one minute yet find murals of the Virgin Mother in the bathroom the next. I almost miss the insane music and the strange half-sleeps I slept there while she worked her night shift.

I miss Bourbon Street and metalwork and silly gay bars and sillier straight ones. I miss Josh's mathematical musings and the taste of his skin and lips. I remember being there for him as he cried and told me about how Katrina had removed his world away from him and how the New Orleans of his youth would never be again. I remember po-boy sandwiches and lines of water damage and riding under vast bridges to find cheap tires and hubcaps.

I remember Summer Solstice on the Mississipi River, hiking with Josh and enjoying myself immensely even as I wished he weren't so hesitant about touch and kissing and not-as-public-as-you-think affection. I remember hidden paths and houses of his dreams and barges going by on the river. I remember the impromptu gathering of pagans and progressive politics, and the irony of the first Voudoun priestesses I met being all white. I remember the sunset and the stars and singing "Down to the River to Pray" by the Mighty Missisipi.

Jessica lived near there. Roxy lives there now. I thought of living there. An oppertunity to return comes in February.

That place can't be abandoned - it has far too much soul

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com