Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

A Story from Rumi January 11, 2008 @ 3:43 p.m.

A certain man caught a bird in a trap. The bird said, "Sir, you have eaten many cows and sheep in your life and you're still hungry. The little bit of meat on my bones won't satisfy you either. If you let me go, I'll give you three pieces of wisdom. One I'll say standing on your hand. One on your roof. And one I'll speak from the limb of that tree."

The man was interested. He freed the bird and let it stand on his hand.

"Number one: Do not believe in absurdity, no matter who says it."

The bird flew and lit on the man's roof. "Number two; Do not grieve over what is past; it's over. Never regret what has happened.

By the way," the bird continued, "in my body there is a huge pearl weighing as much as ten copper coins. It was meant to be an inheritance for you and your children, but now you've lost it. You could have owned the largest pearl in existence, but evidently, it was not meant to be."

The man started wailing like a woman in childbirth. The bird said, "Didn't I just say 'Don't grieve for what's in the past' and also 'Don't believe in absurdity'? My entire body doesn't weigh as much as ten copper coins. How could I have a pearl that heavy inside me?"

The man came to his senses. "All right. Tell me number three."

"Yes, you've made such good use of the first two!"

"Don't give advice to someone who is groggy and falling asleep. Don't throw seeds on the sand."

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com