Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

It's Not That I'm Ungrateful April 11, 2008 @ 9:52 a.m.

Pet peeve #5629 - when you object to people doing something wrong and they assume that means you're ungrateful for all the good things they have done for you.

This is really driving me nuts. So I'm just gonna state some things for the record here so everyone is nice and clear.

Just because I get pissed at the gods sometimes doesn't mean I don't appreciate all the hundred little ways known and unknown they help me and enrich my life everyday.

Just because my father has stepped WAY out of line in trying to take over my responsibility for my own life doesn't mean I don't appeciate all the financial assistance and friendship he's given me over the years.

Just because my mom drives me nuts with her anal-retentive ways doesn't mean I don't appreciate the huge sacrifices she's made for me all through the years, her unconditional love, the million times she's been there for me, and the fact that most of my friends are jealous I have such a great mother with good reason.

Just because my brother can't seem to ever say anything original and has walked around simply reciting things he's heard elsewhere for most of his life doens't mean he isn't one of the best friends I have in the world.

Just because my maternal cousins have lost all faith that anyone could ever sincerely love and care for them and decided to punish all of us for it doesn't mean I wouldn't do everything I could to protect them, and that I don't constantly wonder if I've been there for them as much as I should.

Just because my aunt and uncle can be extremely selfish doesn't mean I don't appreciate the job opportunities they give me.

Just because Ben speaks out of his ass on a regular basis and continually gives his power away doesn't mean I'm not in awe time and again at his competence, professionalism, wisdom, and grace.

Just because my friends in the Rogue Valley can be such depressing deadbeats who still owe my family a ton of money doesn't mean I didn't have some of the best times in my life with them.

Just because Megan's pissed-off and ignorant brand of Atheism annoys me to no end doesn't mean I won't always be there for her.

Just because Genesis doesn't respect herself and has about as much confidence as a goldfish doesn't mean I won't always be her surrogate brother.

Just because most people don't know that turning the cheek was more of a compromising passive resistance along the lines of Gandhi than it was a stupid appeasement ala Chamberlain doesn't mean it isn't still incredibly effective.

Just because I don't take a masochistic and grateful stance towards the shit life sends my way doesn't mean I don't appreciate the thousand ways I enjoy full and rich life every single day.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com