Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Re: The Aerial Spirits are Evil? August 15, 2008 @ 1:30 p.m.

--- In [email protected], "Aaron" wrote:

> This would seem to play a role in the Book of Abramelin, whrein Satan
> appears to represent Cardinal Air. (Lucifer = Cardinal Fire,
> Leviathan = Cardinal Water and Belial = Cardinal Earth.)

Yeah, people sure have been confused about which element to attribute
to which emperor. When I called the four for obedience oaths, I went
with Leviat`an for water and Belial for earth, and they were pretty
straightforward. But I thought Sat`an was fire and Lucifer was air.
Given my limited experiences though, Sat'an with air would make sense,
as I got the most shit from him. Had to eat a bit of humility
pie on that one :)

> Of course, the Book does not assign the 12 Princes to the Zodiac. It
> is something I have received from the spirits themselves. In fact,
> I've had some question over this for years - whether Satan or Belial
> should represent Cardinal Air. Now it seems much more clear. :)

Cool! Its exciting to be figuring this stuff out together. When I
called the Dukes, I did it a bit generically as I had read
contradictory information about who goes with what direction, whose
name is pronounced how, etc. The hierarchies are structured
differently from grimoire to grimoire, but I wanted to be able to work
with any and all of them - not just, say, abramelin or the goetia. So
I used my knowledge of the Eight directions that I had learned, among
other places, from Aikido, and called all the spirits I could find
from the grimoires that occupied those cardinal and fixed positions
together as a group. I outlined my working so that I would simply
receive oaths through the wand to represent and proxy each of the
eight directions, and leave it up to the spirits to say who's who. It
worked out pretty well - I certainly felt more powerful after that
night concluded. And in the following days, my Angel sent me lore to
educate me about the significance of each of the directions and their
various powers.

> Consider the Gnostic influences on this material, wherein Hell and
> Earth were pretty much the same thing. Some Christian traditions do
> view Satan as the "Lord of this World" until such time as the Second
> Coming, etc.

Heck, for the dualistic Gnostics, everything below the 8th heaven was
evil. Earth I understood - it just surprised me that the air would get
demonized too.

One other thing - it was interesting, both in the example of Sat`an
and other spirits, to find that not all of them fell voluntarily. The
modern devil is composite, but preserving Sat`an as seperate from
Lucifer seems to be an important distinction. The court-appointed
adversary just doing his duty is a very different figure than the
morning star who sought to eclipse God in his pride. Incidentally, the
2 other demon emperors in Skinner's book are Beelzebub and Lucifer. If
the division is threefold into air, earth, and hell (and I associate
that with the earth's molten magma mantle and the 2nd dimension), then
it would make sense if Sat`an was air, Beelzebub was earth, and
Lucifer was hell. If their depth was determined by their obstinacy,
then certainly Lucifer's proud myth would place him at the lowermost
depth.

David

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com