Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Re: The Rewards of Magic August 15, 2008 @ 12:52 p.m.

[Johnny,]

Have you read any of Taylor Ellwood's books? They're very insightful and have a lot of information on memetics and the connection to magic - the most dramatic being that its entirely possible to evoke, converse, and learn from a fictional character that's been popularized in the mass media.

Good for you for the social work path. I've sometimes thought of doing a masters in that, but I'm a little more oriented towards fixing the system first so it doesn't undercut everybody's efforts. I worked as an admin assistant at Sunny Hills Children's Services in San Anselmo though, and I got to appreciate first hand how important the work that social workers do is.

Working with magic is like working with chemistry in the sense that its never going to be entirely safe, but if you take reasonable precautions and go about things wisely and systematically, you shouldn't have anything to worry about. The word "experiment" is the main term used for a magical operation in the medieval grimoires, and I wouldn't be surprised if science actually got it from them. If you ever take a look at John Baptista's "Natural Magic in 20 Books", its a very interesting kind of transitional material between medieval magic and enlightenment science.

As far as goetic evocation, its intermediate level work in my opinion. However, some spirits are much more amiable than others, and one can establish contacts and petition them for favors without meeting with them personally.

Reading a book or two on Wicca in junior high was my first formal exposure to magic. But it was simple and elegent enough that I just took the principles to heart and practice and didn't see a need to change my religion or get involved with an organized group. That actually came later when I became a follower of Sylvia Brown and the Society of Novus Spiritist (spiritualist neo-gnostics) for several years. They never really practiced magic per se, but a lot of the simple techniques they taught acknowledged the principles of basic sympathetic magic (light a candle of a certian color for a certain wish, visualize the other side, pray specifically, etc). These days I'm so eclectic that I've pretty much given up on labels, but I can outline my takes somewhat. My cosmology and religious framework is Gnostic Christian, and within that I've maintained and integrated my Jewish heritage, as well as Philosophy, Islam, and the polytheistic religions as subsets within the greater truth of things. Basically, I try to maintain the broadest and most encompassing worldview I can, and when things appear to contradict, it just means that I don't have all the information to put things into perspective yet. Within all that, my magical preferences and topics of interest and study (as opposed to my fundamental values and beliefs) vary from year to year.

Clear as mud? I'll simplify it for you. My magical motto is "Emet` Eli" (that would make me Frater E.E. in CM terminology). Its Hebrew and means "Truth (is) my god".

You don't need to let the profusity of traditions overwhelm you, though that is a common problem. The secret, I've found, is to just remind yourself that you don't have to commit to anything if you don't want to. Feel free to experiment and test things out - just don't shortcut yourself by never taking the time to practice or study anything in depth (the 10-minute rice / supermarket sweep problem). A lot of beginners have this problem where they have a deep need to belong to some group and to take up their identity as their own. A lot of times it is a way to cover their own insecurities, and as many people come to magic with spiritual wounds, those can be grievous. But so much of the path of a mage is about developing the right to make your own law and go your own way. While that may cover well-trodden ground and overlap with the works of others, the farther you advance, the more personalized and unique your own path and contribution will be. Set your heart on the truth and obtaining what you truly desire, deep down in your soul, and you can't go wrong :)

Peace, love, fluffy bunnies,
David

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com