Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Evocation of Zisi August 30, 2008 @ 8:04 p.m.

I just completed a big evocation and wanted to share with you all how it went. This is a big occasion for me, and its kind of a big test of my faith as well - to see if I've really gotten as far as I think I have and if my technique is up to par. I've had my doubts about success just as any mage does, but I'm not going to let them stop me because this issue is just too important.

The spirit I chose to evoke was Zisi, one of the 50 names/aspects/gods attributed to Marduk in the Enuma Elish and the Necronomicon. Zisi is also linked to Shazu, an assembler, organizer, and worker of major relationships and projects between the gods. The six beings that are attributed to Shazu are among the most powerful in the Necronomicon, able to create massive works of justice and peace on the one hand, or war and destruction on the other.

Zisi is described in the Necronomicon as follows: "Reconciler of enemies, silencer of arguments, between two people or between two nations, or even, it is said, between two worlds. The scent of Peace is indeed sweet to this Power, whose word is MASHINANNA..."

In the Enuma Elish, it is written "Shazu may they, secondly, exalt as Zisi,
Who silences the insurgent;
Who banishes consternation from the body of the gods, his fathers."

His seal is very linear and looks kind of like a pentagram whose horizontal line has been opened up like a lid. The Necronomicon seals are not particularly complex and resemble Rose-Cross style makeshift seals in many ways, as opposed to more sigilized representations ala Spare or the Goetia. The line starts, changes direction through four vertices, and then travels to a conclusion, which would indicate a six-letter correspondence with no shared letters. This doesn't match the name or power word given, so how it was derived remains a mystery to me for now.

My reason for calling Zisi was actually pretty bold, but based on his reputation for being able to create peace between entire worlds, I didn't feel it was out of line. My petition to him was to end the conflict in Darfur, Sudan, and to create a just and lasting peace. I asked him to halt the murder, violence, genocide, and destruction as soon as possible; to empower the peacekeepers, and to disempower the criminals and war profiteers. No small task, but I believe this spirit - this god even - can do it, though not without assistance.

In preparation for the evocation, I bathed, made sure my room was clean, and burned strong and abundant pine resin in my brazier, to waft through the room and out the windows. I cut out a piece of dark blue stationary with a starry design and wrote out Zisi's name, seal, and power word on one side. On the other side, I wrote out divine names that were appropriate as I determined them: El, Elyon, Marduk, Shazu, and the jovial symbol. I also made up a seal of the elder gods on another piece of the same stationary.

My altar was already pretty well decked out for a peace working, since it just happened to be the most recent magic I was working on both for myself and a friend. On my standard white altar cloth, I had my brass brazier, cup of Eliyahu, Pentacle, almond wand, some crystals, the seal of Mepsitahl who is tutoring and aiding me in evocation, an olive branch, and a sprig of rosemary. And of course, my crystal ball in its holder. I also have my lodestone in one corner, but its busy furthering my career and wasn't involved in this operation.

Its a new moon, and I held off doing this until this evening - sunset precisely - because I didn't want the void-course to interfere, and I wanted the blessings and benefits of Nanna's cooperation in the venture. Writing this now, I get the sense that it was a good idea - I've planted a seed that will remain invisible for a while, but that will be unstoppable and powerful as it germinates, breaks through, and grows to fruition. My concerns for the Darfuris and Sudanese are both short AND long term, and I don't want unresolved issues from now just creating more problems in the future.

I used the conjuration of the fire god and the exorcism incantation from the Necronomicon to cleanse the whole area, myself included. I then used my almond wand to call the watchtowers through the Nec's invocations, drawing the pentagram - or Arra sign as they call it - with each directional invocation. It was interesting to consider the similarity with the Golden Dawn's watchtower and pentagram banishing rituals. Everything felt very good and the power established itself nicely upon the four walls of my room. I turned my music player on to play U2's "Peace on Earth", and that being done, I took my magic white rope with the divine names and wove my circle around me and my chair, praying and empowering it. The song was very powerful and had a noticeable effect on me, and hopefully it was pleasing to Zisi as well.

I took up my wand in my right hand and Zisi's seal and began to conjure him to come and communicate with me. I'm pretty free-form when it comes to conjuration - I usually start out with a fairly loud yet drawn out chant of the being's name in order to get its attention, followed by an entreaty for it to come, using whatever appropriate reasons, authorities, and praises come to mind. Getting caught up in a grimoire's text can be a good method, but I really like my free-form conjurations and the way they always seem to take on a life of their own and help me to say whatever the right words are for the occasion.

I focused purely on the seal for a bit, letting myself merge and immerse myself in it unconsciously, and then slid it under my crystal ball and its holder once I felt a good connection. The holder is somewhat transparent, and I've discovered this is a neat way to create a connection through the crystal ball. When you use this method, both the seal and your surrounding environment will create unique background and images on the crystal to scry through with each session. The colors and light that are cast are not too bright or dark, so its a good medium that doesn't distract and yet helps to provide a lot of different kinds of surface for scrying within the matrix and surface of the ball.

Gazing in the direction of the crystal, the first thing that struck me was a beautiful sky scene. It was one of those perfect skies you remember from your childhood - almost completely clear and softly blue, with only a few small, friendly clouds, and not too much heat or sun. It was a perfectly peaceful scene that encouraged me I was on the right track. Near the cloud, there was a shimmering that looked kind of like heat rising off the street, or perhaps sunlight. I took this to be Zisi trying to come through, and welcomed him.

I articulated my petition as best I could, trying to leave nothing out and consider everything necessary. Saying everything I needed to say, and striving not to be too wordy, I felt a little afraid that he wouldn't be able to it, but I put that fear aside. I took something of a salesman's stance - you know, where they try to ensure their pitch by jumping right to the "so, what shall I sign you up for?" part. This was probably more for my confidence then anything, but having said my "peace", I asked how long he would take to accomplish this, and what was the extent of his ability. My gaze and the crystal's light shifted a bit, and I saw sumerian cuneiform writing. I then saw the shape of a number 7 pushing through like from the back of blue paper. I asked "7 days? Months? Years". 7 months resonated strongly - he gave me the impression it would take 7 months to turn things around for Darfur and Sudan.

As I gazed more and tried to "look and listen" for more information and anything else he was trying to convey, the scene changed back into the sky, but now it lowered down to show the African savanna below it, and it was peaceful. I then saw jeeps driving up. They were of a standard kind of dark yellow color and I didn't notice any insignia. In fact, I'm not sure I saw any people either - I'm not sure what it meant, and whose jeeps they were.

The scene then did something very interesting. It scrolled along the axis of the crystal and showed me western-style houses and rooftops - except they were on the opposite side of the crysal, and upside-down to boot! It was actually pretty cool - he was conveying that the people on the other side of the world needed to be involved too. Of course! I agreed wholeheartedly and asked that Darfur and Sudan receive all the foreign support and aid they needed. I should have remembered to ask that China and the other guys that are supplying them weapons cut it out, but I feel fairly confident that I covered that with my earlier requests.

I asked if there was anything he couldn't do for them, and I saw both actual skeletons and children that were so starved that they were almost skeletons themselves. Obviously, he couldn't bring back those that were already dead, but perhaps he was saying also that some people were already so malnourished that he couldn't save them at this point. Perhaps I should call on some different spirits and gods to help with the hunger and food problems.

Zisi also showed me the sky once more, and I saw a rough image of the Virgin Mary made out of sunlight shining in the sky. Obviously Mary's got a strong investment in this situation, but I'm not sure what else he was trying to convey. A strong feeling of mercy and the need for it was felt, and I felt like it would be necessary to involve a lot more people both in empowering Zisi to do his work as well as taking practical action themselves to help him carry out his big assignment. I read earlier of a summoner's account in which Zisi instructed them to use his power word on the spot to stop a quarrel. Perhaps we can all invoke that power as needed?

7 months sounded very good to me - not too long, and not too short to make me question his trustworthiness (God forbid my lack of faith should interfere in this working though). I told him I would hold him to it and do everything I could to try to bring it about efficiently, and faster if possible. Writing to you guys about it, and requesting your prayers and invocation of both Mary and Zisi MASHINNANA, seems to be my first step.

I had my doubts and fears with this operation, and was concerned as usual that my own expectations, positive or negative, might interfere with the communication or ruin the effect. But like I said, I feel having done this that its something of a test of faith for me now, and I intend to hold true to it. Thank you for letting me share my experience with you, and please keep Darfur in your prayers and in you life - it needs all the help it can get.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com