Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Magic of Abramelin November 08, 2008 @ 10:51 p.m.

Order of the Necronomicon Forum

I was utterly enchanted when I first found Abramelin several years ago. It was exactly what I was looking for, and I really identified with the background story as I am Jewish and was seeking a way to reconcile my love of magick and mythology with Yahweh and the Kabbalah and Jewish culture and history.

At the time, I was really gung ho about the magic and was getting ready to do the rituals, and I found a rule that said you had to be at least 25. I think I was 23 at the time. I was really bummed, but I wanted to really make sure I did the whole thing correctly. I was somewhat superstitious about rules back then, but I've learned that with beginners that is not necessarily a bad thing. If it ain't broke, don't fix it, and if you don't understand what's in the black box, be very careful about playing around with it.

Anyway, A LOT happened over the next year and a half, and I ended up studying the grimoire intensively as well as doing a lot of independent research, prayer, and preparatory/initiatory practices that included the ritual fasting. I was guided from beginning to end. I learned to hymn the psalms in a very spiritual manner. I was given a very thorough education in celestial magick and its history. I hand-copied the book into a beautiful leather folio that was given to me by my mother.

What ended up happening was that right around the time of my 25th birthday, I had the Saturnine initiation of death and resurrection. It was absolutely stunning and shocking and I have never and will never be the same again. In the wake of that realization, I discovered that I had completed the whole of the Abramelin operation without even realizing it. All the hard and fast rules just went out the window when I crossed the Abyss.

Since then, I have been exploring both the chthonic magic of Malkuth/Kia as well as the supercelestial magic of Chochmah, Enki, the Watchers, and the Lords of Olympus. I took oaths from the 4 emperors and the 8 directional dukes, but I am holding off with the 360 and other spirits until I can perfect the magick squares along with the talismans of the Black Pullet (they are both very compatible systems that rely on oaths from aerial spirits to enforce their effects).

My experience with Lucifer and Satan has been particularly interesting. Lucifer is associated with fire and pride, for better or worse. I approached him seeking reconciliation in the spirit of forgiveness, and he tentatively agreed. What was cool is that shortly afterwards he introduced me to his own series of comics, in which the storyline is that Lucifer has resigned his position as lord of hell and is walking the earth as a free agent. He even has a bar called "Lux" in L.A.!

Satan has been hard on me, but in many ways he is a great teacher. He knows my pride and arrogance better than anyone, and a lot of times I have had to call for angelic assistance to deal with him, because of the way my mind works (he is the infernal lord of the air). Michael has and is helping me to learn to deal with him effectively. In my Awakening experience, I saw that the real Mad God is our own egos - I saw it as myself. I experienced myself as Yahweh Elohim, the Demiurge, along with a host of saturnine symbolism.

After I bound Satan and had him take the oath, I was taken into the underworld. My "Gate of Ganzir", incidentally, was a Greyhound bus traveling from Oregon to California in the middle of the night, in which I read accounts from Greek mythology of underworld trips and ordeals, whilst hicks and nutjobs yelled and spoke trash around me. But all that was kind of just a secondary reflection to what was going on inside of me. I have rarely felt so much rage as I did then. I was angrier possibly then I have ever been in my life. I felt the "fury of the hellish queen".

Leviathan is none other than the lady Tiamat, whom I'm sure you're all familiar with. She is the infernal empress of water.

I haven't had much experience with Belial, the earthly power, but perhaps I will investigate him further in due time.

The Eight all seem to have dual aspects, and can function both as gods/angels and as cacodemons. Astaroth/Ishtar/Esther is among them. I took oaths from them all as a collective group and didn't nitpick about who goes with what direction. Either way, it was very empowering. I have since been learning more about directional magic and if anyone has additional information on what kinds of magic and wisdom go with each direction, I would really appreciate it if you shared it with us.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com