Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Binding the Planetary Daemons November 19, 2008 @ 9:25 p.m.

Solomonic Magick Webgroup

Taking some inspiration from Moloch and a discussion thread that's been going on within his group, I've been experimenting with the planetary tables and their spirits and cooking up some fun things in my wizard's workshop. I've taken advantage of the planetary days and hours, as well as their angels, to consecrate some simple but effective tokens for the sun and mercury. The photos are in the album if anyone wants to take a look. I talked a bit about them in the other thread on gold and silver for seals (or otherwise). The consecration of the Sun Token had a really neat effect ofimmediately dispelling depression from the house, and inspiring a senseof childlike joy and wonder. I actually used aluminum foil for the mercury token, and so far its done just fine.

The discussions so far have focused on the planetary intelligences, but I've been especially interested in working with the planetary daemons/spirits. I was really intrigued in the evocation accounts I read to hear of them manifesting as a kind of pure, if blind, force-of-nature torrent of respective planetary energy. That struck me as mind-bogglingly useful if applied wisely. I think its good to work with the intelligences as we're learning and growing in power and knowledge of the various planets and such, but I also think its important to learn to work with the forces independently and on your own, so that you can call them up as needed. Since the planetary spirits are described as "evil daemons" in a similar way to the Abramelin spirits, it struck me that one should be able to bind and take oaths from them in a similar manner. I did just that tonight with Taphtartarat`, the daemon of Mercury, and it went off surprisingly well.

I had read about the overwhelming effects of the planetary daemons, so I took good precautions with my evocation. I used the triangle/black mirror combo, which is something I usually pass up in favor of my little crystal ball, along with good watchtower protections, cleansing measures, a physical circle, and the aid of the angel of the hour. I did NOT get the typical overwhelming sensation that has been described by others when calling the planetary daemons. In fact, I think I might have overwhelmed Taphtartarat` with some of the seals that I showed him to compel obedience. It just goes to show that those planetary talsimans, seals, and tables really DO "strike fear into the hearts of the spirits", so be careful when using them. Having showed and even touched the table to the mirror, Taphtartarat` was quick to comply with my demands and to submit to an oath of obedience. While that was nice, I wonder if maybe so much show of force was really necessary. I went in thinking I was the one that needed the protection, but it seemed that I ended up intimidating him instead. I don't know if it would work this way for everyone. I was born with Mercury in Capricorn retrograde and have had a strong mind but a lot of social anxiety all my life, so maybe I NEEDED to put him in his place. I go into these things calling on whatever relevant divinity I can and try to always have the help I need.

Let me say after experimenting a couple times now over the last few weeks that calling on the angel of the hour to assist in your operations, especially in planetary magic, REALLY HELPS A LOT! Lately, for me, its been Serquanich, the angel of the 3rd hour of the night (Quabrion), and I am very grateful to him and his hosts for their help. I haven't consciously planned that particular hour, except that in this season its one of the main hours for working when you want both the day and hour of a particular planet; its around 7 pm this time of year. I tend to prefer magicking at night, and the second night hour/planetary day combo usually doesn't happen till around 3 am, so its worked out nicely. Serquanich has really come through for me though, so I think one of these days I'm going to evoke him and his hosts straight up via the Pauline Art and try to learn more about their particular abilities and the distinct virtues of the hour they rule. I'm learning more about the hours anyways through working with the Theurgia-Goetia; I recently made up the seals for Carnesiel's grand dukes and I think they might be based on a rotation of hours as well.

BTW, if you ever want to make sure you're spelling the planetary daemon name correctly, just check the gematria.
4 t`av X 400 = 1600
2 resh X 200=400
1 peh X 80 = 80
1600 + 400 + 80 = 2080, the sum of the numbers on the table of mercury. The planetary intelligence is the diameter - ie, the sum of one row, in this case 260.

Using the math in your evocation is surprisingly effective. The number of an entity almost seems to have more power than the name sometimes; perhaps because its more abstract. I commanded Taphtartarat` by 2080 and he showed honor to the number itself.

I have put Taphtartarat` to work immediately to clear up the financial problems my friends, family, and I have been dealing with, and also had him bless me with whatever graces he had to give. That alone is going to take him quite a bit of effort and time, so he's got his hands full and I'm content for now. Taph''s on call now and has become my first familiar spirit, so I'm looking forward to being able to call up his power on demand and as needed in the future for spellwork and other ends.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com